Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Finding Nemo Clownfish Cocoon Blanket

on April 6, 2016

This is the third and final installment in my cocoon blanket posts!  Hopefully you have seen the Mermaid Tail Blanket and the Shark Blanket that I also did.  If not, go check them out!  Seriously, I’ll wait……

 

Ok good.  SO.  This blanket.  I needed to find something that I could do that would go along with those other two, but that would be different.  My little nephew, Kannon, doesn’t like scary stuff, so I didn’t want to make him the shark blanket.  I had also seen a pattern for a dragon, but again, scary.  Then I came across THIS pattern….NEMO!!  It was perfect!!  Not scary at all, he knew what it would be, and it would be pretty simple to make.

10418234_10153358559046314_5638520090042705901_n

I used Red Heart yarn and followed the pattern alllmost exactly.  The only thing that I had trouble with was getting the ‘little’ fin to work. I decided that it wasn’t worth the hassle of trying to figure it out, so I just made two regular fins, but sewed one on a little tighter, covering fewer rows, so that it was different.  You can just throw it into the washing machine as it get dirty and it will just get softer and softer every time you wash it.

12360286_10153358559001314_8482091389604437121_n

The pattern said that it was for ages 2-4, and he turned 3 in January, so it was the perfect size.  I do think that it would be extremely easy to increase the width and make larger sizes.  The best part?  He LOVED it!!  It’s his ‘fishy blanket’ and he apparently uses it all of the time.

1914519_10153369362716314_7409216385833495228_n

I am so glad that I made these little cuties their own blankets for Christmas instead of giving them (more) toys.  Now they have something that they will use all of the time and can keep for a few years as they grow into them!  I mean, I might be a little biased, but I give them a 10/10.  🙂

2 responses to “Finding Nemo Clownfish Cocoon Blanket

  1. Cherylann says:

    How can I get the pattern for the shark cocoon?

Leave a Reply

