Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Jello Popcorn 

on January 2, 2016

Jello popcorn…sounds weird, right?  Of course weird is what piques my interest whenever I am searching for new stuff to make, so this was right up my alley.  A year or two ago I found the link on Pinterest for a Monster Popcorn when I was looking for fun stuff to make for a carnival concession stand.  It looked simple enough….jello, popcorn, corn syrup, butter, and sugar.  I could handle that!

The first year that I made it for the carnival, I packaged it up in little snack size ziplocks and wrote the flavor on the outside of it.  They were a HUGE hit and I sold them all!  I have been asked to do them every year since.  My favorite flavors to make are raspberry, lime, orange, and strawberry, but you can use anything.  You can also make them all separately and then mix them all back up together for a fruit punch flavor.   Here’s how I did it.

 

First I popped my popcorn.  I used my new popcorn machine that Nate got me for my birthday!  It is pretty much the coolest thing ever and we frequently enjoy popcorn in the evenings.  I think I did about 2-3 batches of popcorn, following the directions on the package.

Get your flavors ready to go….

Melt your butter, sugar, and corn syrup together.

Dump your jello mix in and stir stir stir!

Then you just dump your popcorn into a bowl and dump the mix over it and stir to coat. Be sure to use a large bowl!  I have found that this way is much easier than trying to pour it over popcorn laying on a flat surface.
  

You’ll need to work quickly so that your jello doesn’t set up.

Then just dump it out onto a baking sheet to cool.  I do not line mine with parchment paper or foil, as I found that it just sticks to it and then I have to pick foil pieces out of it.  That’s no bueno.

Another trick is to frequently stir it around as it cools.  If you just dump it and leave it, then it will just leave all of the excess on the bottom of the pan and it will be wasted.  If you keep stirring it, it will recoat the popcorn and cover it completely.  AND it will keep it from sticking to the bottom of the pan.

It will also make it easy to break apart when it is nice and cool!   Basically what I’m saying is that this is an important step and you should definitely be sure to do it :-).

Then all that is left to do is to break it apart and bag it up!  It is a perfect, sweet treat that people will love, especially the kids!

 

 

Recipe HERE!

Leave a Reply

