Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Camo and Pink Baby Set

on April 16, 2015

Gah!  Why does crochet baby stuff have to be so darn cute?!  That is actually the reason that I started to crochet again 6 years ago…my sister was pregnant with my niece and I wanted to make her hats and other adorable things I found on the internet.  So I dusted off my crochet hooks and haven’t stopped crocheting since!  My mom taught me years and years ago, when I was a teenager, but I could basically make a chain, and a lopsided blanket lol.  I’d say my skills have definitely improved!  Thanks, Ma!   It has opened up a lot of different doors creativity wise, and provided for me when I needed it to.  It’s a life skill, I tell ya, and a very valuable one for me.

So anyway, back to adorable baby stuff.  I had a custom order for this cute little baby set last week.  I have made one set before, for a friend’s baby shower, and she recommended me when someone was looking for a set.  She was having a little boy, so the set that I made her was camo and turquoise, with little booties. This one was pretty similar, with different shoes and a different accent color. I think it turned out pretty cute!

Basically I just went on to Pinterest and searched for a baby hat, a diaper cover, and baby sandals.  I used the tutorials, the sandals one was more of a guideline, and here you go!  I will link the tutorials I used :-).

11041720_10152850298831314_1863618436589759445_n

The set is a 0-3 month size, and I used Red Heart yarn in camo and a neon pink.  I got the buttons at Walmart on clearance for $1.44 for the two pack.

This is the HAT pattern that I used.

This is the FLOWER pattern that I used.  To be honest, I couldn’t figure out how to do the double layered flower, and I just really wasn’t in the mood to figure it out.  So basically I did the single flower in an H hook, then I made a second single flower in an E hook, so that it was smaller and fit inside it.  I had it done in no time!

21029_10152850298946314_185686805705562695_n

This DIAPER COVER pattern was really easy to follow.  It worked up extremely quick and said that it will fit up to 9 months!

11150409_10152850299061314_7318207786814305256_n

This is the pattern for the SANDALS that I used.  These were the first sandals that I had ever made, and I think they turned out pretty cute!  I didn’t use this entire pattern– I basically did the base, then the little back strap.  But after I attached it on the opposite side, I just wanted a simple sandal, so I chained 9, then attached it with a SC to the middle where the ‘thong’ should go, then chained another 9 and attached it to the other side.  Does that made sense?  I hope so….

Overall, I think it was a super cute little set, and I have sold a few more of them since I posted it!  I have asked her to send me pictures of her little one in them, and if she does I will be sure to share!

21322_10152850298721314_522167263399170208_n

Leave a Reply

