Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Cocoa Cream Pie

on February 17, 2015

The first time I made this pie was back at Christmas.  I wanted to make the boyfriend a special pie for Christmas dinner, since he doesn’t like most pies.  The one kind I know he does like?  Chocolate Cream.  So basically I was on a mission!  I was going to make him the best chocolate cream pie he’d ever had!  I didn’t want just a regular pudding mix cream pie (although those are good, too!), I wanted a from scratch, cooked pie.

10422153_10152729055891314_8276702291042602350_n

A quick Pinterest search led me to THIS recipe, by Forgotten Way Farms.  It looked simple enough, and the only thing I needed to buy was the pie crust (no, I do NOT make pie crust) and the cool whip.  Because really, what pie isn’t better with cool whip?!

10896994_10152729056076314_7169135418598300616_n

I made it Christmas Eve, and I have to say, it was one of the easiest recipes, like, EVER.  Simple ingredients, fantastic results!  The wah wah part? He didn’t even eat any, because he had thawed out his fancy pie that he gets for holidays.  Yes, I totally forgot that part.  Oh well, Red Wheel might have won that round, but I would not be deterred!

11006101_10152735120026314_141720934_n

I decided that I would make another pie for him, this time for Valentine’s Day.  Valentine’s Day is not enough of a holiday to warrant a Red Wheel pie, so I knew I was in the clear!  Aaaannnd since I had to buy a two pack of pre made pie crusts, I went ahead and made a second pie to give to my dad since his birthday is on Valentine’s Day.  Two birds, one stone, knowwhatI’msayin??

11014720_10152735119831314_28134657_n

The good news?  It was just as fabulous as I remembered.  The bad news?  There are two of us eating this pie, so it’s going a lot faster this time and we are almost out.

Reasons I love this pie:

– It makes a silky, rich, chocolate filling that is not only perfect for pies, but would also be great served as a pudding.  After it sets up in the fridge it will have a firm, almost custard type consistency.

–  Super cheap ingredients….always a plus.

– It makes up really fast, like, you’d better bake your pie crust first and have it almost done in the oven before you start the filling fast.

– There’s a little bit of extra filling that won’t fit in the crust.  I feel like this is my ‘bonus’ for making the pie and eat it warm out of the pan.

– It’s chocolate pie.  Duh.

I plan to try this in a graham cracker crust, since I feel like that would be super yummy as well.  I think I will also make a few of these for the bingo fundraiser in a month or two….I have a feeling it will go over well.  🙂

Now excuse me while I go over to Forgotten Way Farms and see what else I can find to make.

My Granny’s Cocoa Cream Pie

Recipe from Forgotten Way Farms

½ c. cocoa

¼ cup cornstarch/or arrowroot powder (or ½ c. all purpose flour)

3 egg yolks

1 ½ c. sugar

¼ tsp. salt

2 c. milk

1 tsp. vanilla

Mix cocoa, cornstarch, beaten egg yolks; sugar and salt, then add milk gradually, while stirring in a pot over med-high heat. Cook until thick, beating it smooth. Cream pies take some time to thicken, so stir… and stir (10-15 min). Using a heavy bottom pan really helps. Just keep it up until it thickens add vanilla in after you take off the heat. Pour into a pre-baked pie shell. Put in the fridge to chill, add whipped cream if you like. Or use the left over egg whites for a meringue topping!

2 responses to “Cocoa Cream Pie

  1. Abby Jo says:

    Thank you for linking back to our website, this recipe has gone all over the Internet with my pictures and not a lot of people are giving link backs or credit… So thank you very much!
    – Abby Jo

Leave a Reply

