Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Creamy Potato Soup

on January 29, 2015

Lately I have been really into soups.  What with the cold weather, the fact that I don’t want to go to the store to get groceries, and that the bf really likes it, how could I not be!?  My favorite lately has been this Creamy Potato Soup.  It seems like every other week or so I make a batch of this on Sunday night and we eat it for lunch throughout the week.  You can use this ‘base’ and then customize the spices however you would like.  Personally I keep my little shaker of red pepper flakes handy, because I like mine a lot spicier than he does, so I just shake some into my bowl.

One of the great things about this soup is how inexpensive it is to make!  Potatoes, onions, flour, chicken broth or milk (or water and chicken bouillon!) and you’re good to go.  Everything else is pretty optional.  I’m thinking about adding some canned corn in the future, too.  I think that would be pretty tasty!  It makes quite a bit of food for having such simple ingredients.

My sister thought that I was crazy for cooking my potatoes in the soup from raw.  Apparently she precooks her potatoes and adds them mostly done to her potato soup.  You can do that, too, if you’d like, but I don’t see why I would dirty another pan :-).  I also like the consistency it adds to the soup, since some of the potatoes break apart.  It’s super creamy and delicious!

Creamy Potato Soup

5 medium sized potatoes, peeled and diced into 1″ pieces

1/2 lb bacon, sliced into 1″ pieces

1 medium onion, diced

4 T. flour

6 C. chicken broth or milk

Creole seasoning, to taste

Salt, to taste

Pepper, to taste

Garlic salt, to taste

Optional toppings- shredded cheese, extra bacon crumbles, diced green onions

In a large pot over medium heat, cook your bacon until it is brown and crispy.  Remove from pan and set aside.  Add your chopped potatoes and onions and cook until your onions are translucent.  Sprinkle with your flour and cook for 3-4 minutes, stirring pretty often.  Add your seasonings now.  I just do a few shakes of each, then stir it and taste a potato to see if I like it.  Add your liquid, making sure to stir it really well to mix in the flour.  Cook over medium heat until your potatoes are soft, stirring often.  It will thicken up as it cooks.  Right before serving, stir your cooked bacon in.    Add any desired toppings.  Serve.

Leave a Reply

