Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Purple and White Giant Granny Square Afghan

on October 3, 2014

 

IMG_1450

 

 

This afghan was SUCH a fun thing to make!  It was my very first baby blanket, and my first big granny square project.  Before this, the only other granny squares I had made were a 4 square trivet and a pretty washcloth.   The best part about it?  I didn’t even need a pattern.  Once you know how to make a granny square, you can make this blanket.  It is basically just a repeating pattern–you could make this into a giant king sized blanket, and you’d do the same thing the whole way!

 

IMG_1453

Don’t know how to make a granny square?  THIS is the youtube tutorial that I watched to learn.  Then you just keep the rounds going until it’s the size that you like.  This one ended up being 32″ x 32″, with about 25 rounds.  Basically you will just use a DC, chain, and slip stitch.  Easy peasy.

IMG_1456

I used an H hook, and some Red Heart yarn for this project, which is a cheaper, not as soft yarn as any of the baby yarns available.  But once you wash it, it just gets softer and softer every time.  I bought one of the larger skeins of each color, for $5 a skein at Walmart.  I have quite a bit left, I think I MIGHT have used half of the skein.

IMG_1458

Funny story about this pretty afghan.  I was invited to a baby shower for a friend of mine.  We work together pretty close on the fair board since she is the extension agent for our county.  Well, they decided they didn’t want to know the sex of the baby until it was born, which takes out the standard blue/pink colors to make a baby blanket in.  She told me that they were doing a Peter Pan theme for the nursery, so I thought ok, I can get some green and white yarn and make a blanket out of that!  When I was there though, they didn’t have a whole lot of selection, and the more I looked at the green and white, I just kept thinking that it seemed more ‘boy’ to me.  So I decided that since I thought I remembered them being KState fans, that a purple and white blanket would work just fine!!  I grabbed the yarn up, feeling pretty good, went home and got started that night.

IMG_1462

Man, that blanket was so pretty while it was being worked up.  The purple was so vibrant and the white was just the perfect contrast.  I just knew that they would love it!  So I finished it up on a Sunday night, washed it, and went to my fair  board meeting the next night.

IMG_1455

At the meeting, we got on the subject of the KState game at the end of the month, and whether or not it was a home game.  Could someone look it up on their phone?  And my friend says (I shit you not), ‘well, I don’t keep track of Kstate’s schedule, I only do Oklahoma State’s.’  HOLY. CRAP.  So I am sitting there freaking out on the inside, but trying to stay cool on the outside.  So I casually say, ‘oh, you don’t like Kstate?’, and she says, ‘well I mean, they write my paycheck (the extension office is through them), but I am an OSU fan.’

Well, that was a FAIL. ha!

IMG_1464

So, back to the drawing board on that blanket!  But that does mean that this one is now for sale.  I will be listing it on etsy very soon.  It’s still a really pretty blanket, and we have a lot of KState fans around here, so I’m sure it won’t be long before it sells.

IMG_1465

I am also thinking of adding a soft, minky fabric back and a scallop border.  Or even a nice flannel in a KState fabric.  What do you think?

IMG_1468

Have you ever had a gift giving fail?  I ‘m just so glad I found out BEFORE I gave it to her.  That would have been pretty embarassing!

Leave a Reply

