Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Cancer Ribbon Dishcloth Pattern

on September 28, 2014

So I had this friend, her name was Betty Jo.  She lived across the street from me, owned a store downtown, and I served on the fair board with her.  She was actually the first store that started carrying some of my crafts!  She was always encouraging me and raving on and on about anything I made.  She was the life of the party, no matter where she was.  Man, she was just FUN.  We got really close while serving on the fair board together, and she would talk about her daughter’s struggle with breast cancer.  She was her biggest supporter, and showed it any way that she could.  So when I found a pattern for a breast cancer dishcloth, I thought, hey, Jo would LOVE this.  I printed it out and planned to maker her a few.  Then life got in the way, the pattern got shuffled to the bottom of the stack, and I forgot about it.

 

IMG_1432

 

Then we lost Jo this past year.  It was really unexpected.

IMG_1435

I was cleaning out the craft room recently and came across the pattern again.  So I sat down that day and made it.  And thought of Jo the whole time.

IMG_1436

I posted it on my facebook page and had a few people that wanted their own.  So after I made those, I had a lady call and order SIX more.  I think she is giving them away at Christmas.  I spent the entire weekend crocheting, trying to get her order done.  Thankfully these don’t take too long to work up.

IMG_1439

Of course, I lost the pattern halfway through making them.  I think it actually flew away while I was sitting at the farmers market (oops).  But I had the pattern pretty much memorized at that point, so I jotted it down really quickly.  I thought I would share it here for anyone that wants to make them.    Whether it’s for yourself, a friend, or family member that has been affected by breast cancer, or any cancer at all.  I think I will be making up a few in different colors, to represent the different cancers.  It’s crazy how so many people are affected by such an awful disease.  How WE are personally affected by it.  Our house will have white washcloths, for Nate’s mom.

IMG_1438

The pattern makes a pretty big washcloth, or you can use it as a trivet to sit hot dishes on.  I plan to use it for both.  If there is something that isn’t clear, please let me know.  This is my first time to write a pattern like this out.

To make it, I used an H hook, and cotton yarn.  I think you could find a really soft acrylic yarn and use this as a bath cloth.  If you aren’t into crocheting and would still like your own washcloth, I have them listed in my etsy shop – www.etsy.com/shop/brainiac512 under the Crochet section.

 

Crochet Breast Cancer Ribbon Dishcloth/Trivet

Chain 51.

DC in 2nd chain from hook.

DC in the next 19 stitches.

2DC in the next 3 stitches, then DC in the next 2 stitches, 2DC in the next 3 stitches.  DC in the remaining stitches on the row.  Chain 2.  Turn.

DC in the next 20 stitches.

*2DC in next stitch.  Then DC in the next stitch.*  Repeat this 7 more times.  DC to end of the row.  Chain 2, then turn.

DC in the next 23 stitches.

*2DC in next stitch, then DC in the next two stitches*.  Repeat 5 times.  2DC in the next stitch.  DC to the end of the row.  Chain 2, then turn.

DC in the next 24 stitches.

*2DC in the next stitch, DC in the next three stitches*.  Repeat this 3 times. 2DC in next stitch, then DC to the end of the row.

Position your ribbon like the photos above and pin in place.  SC around the ribbon, securing the ribbon in place.  Tie off, leaving a 10″ tail.  Use this on a yarn needle to stitch through and secure the ribbon in place better.

2 responses to “Cancer Ribbon Dishcloth Pattern

  1. Renetta says:

    Awesome!!!!
    Thank you for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

