Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Quick and Easy Ravioli Lasagna

on August 26, 2014

So I was browsing through one of my Kraft magazines that I get, looking for good recipes.  Normally, I find a lot of recipes that I would love to make, but I usually don’t find anything that Nate will like, too.  So I enjoy looking at the pictures, then I usually throw them away and am done with it.  Well I don’t know what it was about the magazine this time, but I found quite a few recipes that would work!!  I was so dang excited!  I marked them all and have been making them the past week or so.

This Ravioli Lasagna was one of those recipes.  Well, I guess I should say, it was the inspiration for this recipe.  That one was a lot more involved, and I didn’t feel like buying all of those special ingredients.  This is the quick version!  You could whip this up on a weeknight, and if you double it like I did, you can eat on it for a few days.

IMG_1403

We took this up to his family for dinner and everyone just loved it!  I think next time we might do 1 package of beef ravioli, and 1 package of cheese, but other than that, I wouldn’t change a thing!  This would be a good potluck recipe, too!  Because I mean, come on, who doesn’t like ravioli?!

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

First, take two cans of spaghetti sauce– we used one cheap one that was just a plain, and then one that was a bit more expensive (you know, by like 60 cents) with a bit more flavor.  I poured those into a saucepan and let them heat up while I got everything else ready.

In a microwave safe bowl, heat a block of cream cheese for about 1 minute.  It should be melted and easy to stir at this point— make sure it is smooth, then add 1 Cup of milk.  Stir until smooth.   Set aside.

IMG_1388

Now it’s time to assemble!

I used a 9 x 13 casserole dish, sprayed with cooking spray.  Ladle some of your sauce into the bottom, making sure you have a thin, even layer.

IMG_1387

Pour in one bag of frozen beef ravioli– we used the Great Value brand, found at Walmart.

IMG_1389

IMG_1386

Pour your cream cheese mixture over the ravioli, and use the back of a spoon to spread it evenly.

IMG_1390

IMG_1394

Sprinkle on a layer of shredded mozzarella cheese (about 1 cup).

IMG_1395

Ladle on another layer of your spaghetti sauce.

IMG_1397

Another layer of ravioli.

IMG_1398

And more sauce.

IMG_1400

Then top with more shredded mozzarella.  I used an entire bag on the top layer, because we wanted lots of cheese :-).   And it DOES make quite a bit, so I didn’t feel bad about it.

IMG_1401

IMG_1402

I covered it with foil, loosely though, so that when the cheese melted it wouldn’t get all up in my foil.  Then I placed it on a baking sheet pan to catch any drips.

Bake at 400 for 50 minutes.  Then pull the foil off and put under your broiler for about 5 minutes, to darken up the cheese.  If you didn’t want to use the broiler, just throw it back in the oven for another 10 minutes or so to brown the cheese.

IMG_1403

I recommend you let this sit for about 10 minutes before serving, otherwise your mouth will be on FIRE from all of the hot sauce/cheese.

 

IMG_1404

IMG_1405

Quick and Easy Lasagna Ravioli

2 jars of spaghetti sauce

2 packages of frozen beef and/or cheese ravioli (I used Great Value brand)

1 8 oz. package cream cheese

1 Cup milk

3 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Heat spaghetti sauce in a sauce pan on the stove.

Microwave cream cheese in a bowl for 1 minute.  Stir until smooth, then add in 1 cup of milk.  Stir again until smooth.

Spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray.  Ladle a thin layer of sauce on the bottom of the pan.  Pour in 1 package of frozen ravioli.

Pour cream cheese over ravioli and spread into an even layer.

Add 1 cup shredded cheese in an  even layer over the cream cheese.

Ladle another layer of spaghetti sauce over shredded cheese.

Add 2nd bag of frozen ravioli in an  even layer.

Add the rest of the spaghetti sauce, then the rest of the shredded cheese.

Cover with foil and bake for 50 minutes.  Remove foil and put under the broiler for 5 minutes to brown the cheese on top.  You could also put back in the 400 degree oven for another 10 minutes or so.  Let stand for 10 minutes, then serve.

IMG_1407

Leave a Reply

