Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Coconut Curry Shrimp

on August 20, 2014

I wish I had a fabulous photo to share with you for this recipe, because it’s FREAKING FANTASTIC!!  But alas, I was so intent on eating it as fast as I could, all I managed to take the time to do was snap a shot with my cell phone.

10590506_10152296856996314_7819049556273512798_n

I will make it again soon, and try to get better photos then, but I could not wait to tell you about how awesome this dish was.  And urge you to go try it as soon as possible.

I should probably explain WHERE I found this recipe, shouldn’t I?  I read it on Pioneer Woman.  She is one of my blogs that I visit every single day.  I honestly don’t pin as many of her recipes as I used to, but when I saw the title of the post, I didn’t even look at the recipe before I pinned it.

I had never had curry (that I knew of?), so I really didn’t know what to expect.  I thought I had read that it was spicy?  Or at least that was my impression of it.  I was very surprised that to me, it was NOT as spicy as I thought.  I used a little jar of red curry paste that I found in the chinese section at Walmart.  While I was in that section, I also grabbed a can of the baby corn and a can of sliced water chestnuts, because I love them.

It was a really quick meal, I would say the thing that took the longest was waiting for the liquid to reduce.  Seriously though?  It smelled DIVINE!  It was all I could do to not eat this with a spoon out of the pan while it was cooking!

While it was simmering, I made some minute brown rice– next time I want to try it over white rice.  I think that since brown rice has more flavor, that it took away from the curry.  White rice really has no flavor to compete with, so I think it would just EXPLODE in your mouth.

** I added the can of corn and can of water chestnuts while I had the sauce simmering– they basically just needed to heat up.  I also used a few tablespoons of the red curry paste, instead of curry powder, and I did not use the basil.

I will be making this again and  again (whenever Nate isn’t home- ha!).  Aaaand now I’m starving!

Let me know if you try it!

Coconut Curry Shrimp from Pioneer Woman

Printable recipe HERE.

 

Leave a Reply

