Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Project Idea: Methodist Afghan

on July 14, 2014

Happy Monday everybody!  I survived the weekend, and the fair was AWESOME this year, if I do say so myself.  I think everyone was happy that there was a lot to do and a lot to eat :-)!  I didn’t enter a whole lot of items in the Open Class divisions this year, but I did a few photos and entered THIS afghan (Ainsley let me borrow it as long as I would give her my ribbon if I won lol).   I did end up getting a blue on the afghan, and I got two reds on a couple of photos I took.  One of my nephew Kolton playing in a creek, and one of my sister’s family that we took out in a field.  So I was pretty happy!

HOWEVER.  Ainsley won SIX ribbons- 4 white and 2 red- in the photography division, and all but one of them were in the ADULT division.  She is five years old!  Sheesh.  I think she even beat me in a category…..smh.  She also placed on her craft she entered (blue), her ‘eggs and bacon’ candy (red), and got honorable mention on a little beaded bracelet she made.  She won a whole $13 and could not be more excited.  Cracks me up…

Now on to the purpose of this post.  Later today we are heading to Wichita for a few days- Nate’s mom is having some pretty major, scary surgery, so we want to be there for her.  That means a lot of time in the waiting room.  So I thought now would be the perfect time to start a new project, to help keep my mind off of the situation.

I found THIS pattern last fall, but never had a chance to actually make it.  My dad is a Methodist pastor, so I thought it would be a good idea to make it and give it to him for Christmas last year.  Well, that didn’t happen, so I thought, ok, I’ll make it for his birthday (on Valentine’s Day).  That didn’t happen either.  So here’s hoping that I might get it finished (or hell, even started!) for Christmas this year!

This is what the website shows that the pattern looks like when it’s completed-

 

I will make it larger than the baby blanket size, but I’m not sure yet how big I will go.  My dad is 6’6″, so it will be bigger than what I would make for myself, let’s just put it that way.

I’ve never done a ‘counting’ stitch afghan like this, so I am going to watch a few youtube tutorials and see if I can’t get it figured out.  I love that it is just a simple single crochet, so that should be easy to follow.  I’m thinking though, that instead of having about 8 trillion little ends to stitch in at the end, that I should try to weave them into the stitches while crocheting the next row above them.  It worked in my dream last night.  Yes, I was dreaming about starting this blanket.  Or maybe I was dreaming about finishing it lol!  I also thought that I might start working a double crochet for the border, so that it won’t be so heavy when it’s finished.  I want him to actually use it to keep warm, but not to suffocate lol, and that would be ALOT of yarn!  He doesn’t have any idea that I am planning to do this, so I’m hoping it will be a fun surprise at Christmas.

I will share with you all when I get it finished!

 

Have you ever done something like this?   Any tips?

Leave a Reply

