Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Ainsley’s Crocheted Daisy Afghan

on June 4, 2014

So a month or two ago, I shared a Project Idea post about THIS super cute afghan.  I said that I was wanting to make it and that it was absolutely adorable, but that I didn’t really know WHO to make it for.  Well my niece Ainsley’s birthday was last month, and I decided that she just had to have it for her birthday this year!  Here she is.  Let’s just say her nickname is Sassy for a reason! And yes, that would be THREE headbands.  She wanted to wear all of them at the same time.

10009322_10151995761046314_870031953_n

Now, I know that a crocheted afghan is not exactly what every little five year old dreams of, but I figured that she would think the colors were pretty and maybe later on she would really treasure it.  I was fully prepared for her to be like, “Thaaaanks Aunt Teresa.  Where’s my next present?”  So I was prepared and threw some scented/glitter tattoos in the bag, too.

So I started crocheting, making all of my blocks first.  I used THIS step of the tutorial.  They worked up super fast.  I made 5 of each color, and I had 4 colors.  I used Red Heart yarn in a turquoise, bright purple, hot pink, and a lime green.  I crocheted nonstop, any spare second I had, for 4 days.  In the car, while we watched tv, while I sat outside with my stepmom while she had a garage sale….any time that I could.  I wanted to finish it as fast as I could!

10259811_10152064388741314_7573748807447613341_n

 

I did notice that some of my yarns were thicker than the others, so I would constantly hold it up to make sure I was getting the same size squares.  Even still, my turquoise ones came out just a tad bigger.  But not much!  I think I ended up crocheting all of these twice, with how much I was ripping out and redo-ing!  But I also knew that I could fudge it a little when I did the borders that bound them all together.

So after I had all of my squares made, I used THIS tutorial to stitch them together.  I just used a bright white for that.  It wasn’t HARD, but it is a little tedious.  You have to make sure that they are all lining up and looking right.  But this was the best part, too, because it finally made it look like an afghan :-).  Then I added the border with THIS part of the tutorial.  Super easy.  Single crochet all the way, man!  I did one row of each of my colors, including the white.

10292142_10152072379536314_1256990640867982105_n

I was so excited at this point that I stayed up until 1 a.m. to finish it!  I just could NOT wait to give it to her!  I was so excited that I had finally made an afghan all by myself!

But the last thing I had to get on there was the Daisy  applique.  Dun dun dun.  Turns out, I can’t make a daisy correctly to save my life!  I followed her tutorial HERE (or at least I thought I did lol!), but every single time I ended up with a different version of a flower!  One time I had 8 petals, then I had 7, never 6 like it was supposed to be!  Finally I just chose the best looking one and decided to heck with it, she would just have one flower!

I got that on there and just could not believe how pretty it was!  I made sure that I blocked it when it was done, too.  Basically that means to get it wet and lay it out flat to dry.  That helps shape it and make all of your lines straight.  Here are photos of the finished product 🙂

IMG_1320IMG_1321IMG_1316IMG_1323IMG_1324

 

And a nice little side by side with the inspiration photo.

Photo from Repeat Crafter Me blog

Photo from Repeat Crafter Me blog

IMG_1320

Love it!  I will be making more of these for sure!  And here are a few with the birthday girl.  And by the way, she loved it.  When I asked her if she wanted me to take it home for her to have at my house (thinking that might keep it nice, but she could use it when she came over), she said, ‘Well, it might be really special to me, so I’d like to take it to my house to keep it safe.  Your dogs might eat it” (which is a valid point, btw).  Success!

1017416_10152092554186314_5380309384810031109_n10342886_10152092554181314_2855130808885305998_n

(Grainy iPhone photos for the win!)

Have you finished any fun projects lately?  I’d love to hear about them!  Next up will be a monkey afghan for Kolt Lee!

Leave a Reply

