Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

One Hour Potholder- Crochet

on May 20, 2014

 

1797459_10151988644921314_1212192959_n

I have been using THIS pattern ever since I pinned it and featured it on my Pinworthy Thursday, with fantastic results, so I thought it was time to share it here!  It is called the Easy One Hour Potholder from the This Crafting Life blog.

This is like the pattern that my Mom uses– she has made potholders like this for years!  In fact, this is the type of potholder that she made and gave me as a wedding gift 7 years ago.  I use them every day, and they are still just as durable and just as good as they were the day she gave them to me.

The pattern is extremely easy to follow, and just uses a simple single crochet throughout.  The first one I did, I think it took me a little longer than an hour, but now I can whip one out in no time at all.  I actually find them a little addicting to make.  I love the patterns that happen when you use a variegated yarn– and it turns out differently every single time!

 

10153754_10151988644926314_444290551_n

The coolest thing about this pattern is that basically you just keep crocheting, you don’t have to count, and you don’t have to turn.  It works ‘in the round’.  It will eventually start working itself into a square all on its own.  I personally like my potholders a little on the larger side, so I increased my first chain to 35 or 36.  That gives you a bigger size (like the rainbow one above).

1899910_10151954599961314_1552116776_n

 

Then you just have to work a set of slip stitches down the back to connect!  It’s as easy as that!

I have made quite a few, and I have added them to my farmer’s market booth. (on the right, at the back)  I am also going to be making quite a few up to have as bingo prizes during our county fair.  I am on the county fair board and we gave dollar coins as prizes last year, but we wanted to mix it up a little bit and add some new prizes this year.

 

10299089_10152081452111314_1283547311733646150_nI think these would make SUCH a fun gift, especially paired with the Loopy Dishcloth .  I think I might make a few sets using matching yarn for the bingo prizes.  That would be a fun prize, don’t you think?!

Now, I’m off to finish the purple one I am working on right now 🙂  Let me know if you make one!

 

Pattern for potholder HERE.

Pattern for Loopy Dishcloth HERE.

Leave a Reply

