Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Chicken and Green Chile Enchilada Soup

on March 11, 2014

IMG_1287

I threw this together tonight for dinner. It was taking us FOREVER to decide what to have, going back and forth- No, not that.  No I don’t like that.  I’m not in the mood for that, etc etc.  We had originally planned to have green chile chicken enchiladas, but we knew that we were going to eat Mexican food the next day, and he had planned to get a chicken enchilada, so he didn’t want enchiladas two days in a row.  So I suggested green chile chicken pasta with alfredo, but he wasn’t feeling that.  He suggested doing a soup version, so this is what I came up with!

It was really quick to throw together, and I think it would be pretty easy to assemble this the night before in the crockpot, then put the pot in the fridge and put it on first thing in the morning.  Put it on low and it would be ready by lunchtime!

IMG_1288

I made some instant white rice to serve with the soup.  I was actually thinking about just mixing it in, but honestly, I put just a spoonful in the middle and ate it that way.  We both agreed that it was the best way to eat it, because you could just pull a little bit of the rice in with the soup.  LOVED it.

It has a little bit of heat in it, especially with the Fiesta Nacho soup.  If you would rather not have the heat, you can always sub in just regular cream of chicken.  I love the spice though!

I liked this soup because it is easy to make, it reheats well, and it was ready in about 30 minutes.  This is definitely going into our meal rotation!

IMG_1289

Chicken and Green Chile Enchilada Soup

4 chicken breasts

1/2 packet taco seasoning

1 (7oz) can diced green chiles

1 can green enchilada sauce

1 can condensed Fiesta Nacho soup

1 onion, diced

4 stalks celery, diced

1 box chicken stock

2 cups milk

1/2 block Velveeta, or 1 small block of Velveeta, cubed

Vegetable oil

Pepper, to taste

In large stock pot, heat about 1/4 cup vegetable oil.  Dice your chicken breasts to 1″ pieces, add to hot oil.  Sprinkle with half of a packet of taco seasoning and cook until done.  Remove from pan and set aside.  Add diced onion and celery and cook until translucent.  Pour in can of green chiles, Fiesta Nacho soup, and enchilada sauce, and add chicken back to pot.  Add chicken stock and milk.  Lastly, add cubed velveeta.  Bring to a simmer, stirring frequently, until soup is thick and all of the velveeta is melted.

Serve with white rice.

2 responses to “Chicken and Green Chile Enchilada Soup

  1. amber says:

    YUM. Winter is so not over yet, and I am SO going to make a spin off of this soup! I wonder what I could add to make it a bit spicy? Thank you, it sounds (and looks delicious!) I’m always up for exploring new soup recipes!

    • jackatessa says:

      Thanks! I think adding a can of hot rotel might do it. Or you could add red pepper flakes, chopped jalapenos, or even use the spicy velveeta! He doesn’t like super hot stuff, so I usually add red pepper flakes to my bowl of whatever I’m having.

Leave a Reply

