Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Fresh Strawberry Pie

on March 4, 2014

IMG_1015A few weeks ago, Nate and I went up to Wichita for the day.  We were wanting to do some shopping and maybe go catch a movie at the nice big theater.  After our usual stops at the mall and Ulta, and a quick lunch at Cheddar’s, we went to one of our favorite places….SAMS CLUB!!  The first thing that we always do when we get there is get a snack at the snack bar.  Nate gets a blue slushee, and I usually get a hot pretzel with cheese.  This time, since I was standing in line for so long, I actually had time to peruse their menu and got something different.  It was a berry sundae….and it was only $1.50!

IMG_0511-1

Look at that sucker!  It was so good.  Soft serve ice cream and a 4 berry mix.  Yes please.  I’m not gonna lie, I couldn’t even eat the entire thing and ended up throwing probably 1/3rd of it away.

So anyway, we got everything on our list and were browsing around the books.  Nate picked up a math book (he is a jr. high math teacher) and he told me he wanted to buy me a book!  Score!  It took me awhile, but I finally settled on Miss Kay’s Duck Commander Kitchen.  I LOVE Duck Dynasty, and I LOVE MISS KAY!

Of course, I read the book cover to cover the next day, and marked quite a few pages for things to make.  The first thing was the Fresh Strawberry Pie.  It just looked SO GOOD.  After a quick run to the store, I had this pie whipped up in like, 30 minutes tops.  And that included the time it took to preheat the oven and bake the crust.

IMG_1008

The recipe is super easy to follow, with very few ingredients.  Win and win.

IMG_1012

Even though it looks prettier, I think next time I will chop up the strawberries more.  They were a little hard to cut neatly.  Also, I would use a deep dish crust, or even a graham cracker crust.

IMG_1016

And don’t forget the Cool Whip.  I decided this wasn’t enough, so I put the whole tub on there.  Because I mean really, can you ever have too much Cool Whip?  Nah.

IMG_1020

The hardest part of making this pie?  Waiting for it to set up so that you can eat it.  It’s sweet but not overly sweet, fruity, creamy, refreshing, inexpensive, and fun to make.  Here is the recipe so you can make it too!

Fresh Strawberry Pie from Miss Kay’s Duck Commander Kitchen

Makes 1 9 inch pie

1 pound fresh strawberries, sliced

1/4 cup powdered sugar

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup water

2 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 package (6 ounces) strawberry jello

Red food coloring

1 (9 inch) piecrust, homemade or store bought, baked as directed

Whipped topping or fresh whipped cream

1. In a medium bowl, toss the strawberries with the powdered sugar.  Let sit for a few minutes, then pour off the juice.

2.  While the strawberries are sitting, place the granulated sugar, water, cornstarch, and salt in the saucepan; cook, stirring, until clear and thick, about 3 minutes.  Remove from the heat and add 1/4 cup of the Jell-O powder and a few drops of red food coloring.  Stir well and let it cool.

3.  Place the strawberries in the piecrust and pour the Jell-O mixture over the strawberries.

4.  Top with whipped topping and chill to set before serving.

 

IMG_1017

 

One response to “Fresh Strawberry Pie

  1. pastedreams says:

    YUM! I’m going to be making this soon. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

