Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Semi Homemade Chicken and Noodles/Dumplings

on February 12, 2014

IMG_0999

I wanted to share this easy recipe/method to make ‘homemade’ chicken and noodles/dumplings.  It’s not actually homemade, but it tastes like it is!  Personally, I don’t know how to make homemade noodles or dumplings, and right now I don’t want to take the time to learn.  This is what works really well for me- being able to grab a package of frozen noodles at the store and no one can tell the difference?  Yes please!  This is what the noodles look like–

4302373836_2e0cfbf7f9_o

And the dumplings-

DSC_0013We use both.  The photos today are the dumplings.  They run about $3.50 a bag at our small town grocery store, I’m not sure what they are at Walmart.  We like a TON of noodles, so we usually get 2 packages.

And yes, this makes a HUGE pot full of food.  We usually eat on this all week when I make it.  You can cut the quantities in half if you want, but I like leftovers.  Leftovers= not cooking= not doing dishes= 🙂  🙂  🙂

IMG_1000

So to start, I always grab a package of chicken (on the bone).  My store has packages of ‘quarters’ that they sell for just a few dollars.  That is more than enough chicken for me, so I usually just grab one package that has 3 quarters in it.  If you want a ton of chicken, you can always add more in.  I fill a pretty good sized pan about 3/4 of the way with water and throw the chicken in.   I also add in a few shakes of garlic salt, and some powdered chicken bouillon that I get at the Dollar Tree (about 2 tablespoons) .  You can throw in a few cubes of bouillon or you don’t have to add anything at all, I just like the extra ‘chicken-y’ flavor.    Bring it to a boil and cook for about 25-30 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked through.

Remove the chicken and put them on a plate or in a dish.  Let them cool a few minutes, then pick all of the meat off of the bones.  You will want to get all of the fat off that you can, any bones, cartilage, etc– you don’t want it in your dish.  While I am doing this, I usually just let my water keep boiling.  After my chicken is picked off, I throw it back into the pot.

Make sure your stock is really boiling and add in your noodles.  Like I said, we usually use two packages, but you can definitely get by with one.  Make sure you stir as you pour them in, to keep them from sticking together.  Turn your heat to medium and simmer for about 20 minutes.  Check your noodles to make sure they are done (they will still be firm though!).

When your noodles are cooked through, make a little cornstarch slurry.  Basically that means use about 1 cup COLD water and add 2-3 tablespoons of cornstarch.  Use a fork and mix it together.  Pour it into your dish and stir to combine.  It will thicken your broth up just a little bit.

I like to serve them over homemade mashed potatoes….delish!

I also want to add that I think this would be really yummy with some diced celery, carrots, and onions added to it.  The bf doesn’t do vegetables though, so we just do them plain.  Comfort food at its best.  YUM.

IMG_0998

Leave a Reply

