Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

DIY Wooden Wreath Holder

on February 9, 2014

I just thought I would share this super simple tutorial on how to make a wreath holder.  I have wanted one of these for awhile, but I have never made it a priority to finish.  Well we are dong a wreath raffle for the preschool board that I am on, and we usually take the wreath to a few different places around town to display it, to advertise and hopefully sell more tickets.  Now was the perfect time!

IMG_0995

There are only a few things that you need- a hook, a fence post, and a flat square for the bottom.  You will also need need a long screw, screwdriver, and some spray paint.

IMG_0971

So first of all, I actually had the post already, I bought a whole stack of them at a garage sale for $10 a couple of years ago.  If you don’t have a stack of them though, you can find them at Lowe’s for about $4.

Then you take your post over to where they have the big hooks, like this–

IMG_0986

Use your post to help you find a hook that will fit on it.  I just held it up to one end of the post to make sure it wasn’t too wide.  The hook should come with the screws that you need.

The last piece you will need for your wreath holder is a flat piece of wood.  You can use a scrap piece of plywood or even a piece of 2×12.  Since I didn’t have any scrap pieces that would work, I found a wooden plaque at Walmart, I think it was 8″ x 10″.  It was over in the craft section and it was only $4.97.

The first thing you need to do is mark where your post needs to go on your flat piece of wood.  I offset mine towards the back, to account for a larger, heavier wreath.   I found the middle, then moved towards the back about 2″ and marked it with my screw.  Then I predrilled the hole so that it would be easier to screw together, and wouldn’t split the wood.  You should also predrill the bottom of your post, where it will connect to your bottom wood.

IMG_0973

After that, I thought my post was a little too long, so I cut a few inches off of one of the ends.  This is totally up to you whether you do that or not.

IMG_0972

IMG_0978

Then you will put your hook where you want it on the top of your post and mark where the two screw holes should be.  I just did it with the drill bit.  You can predrill (just a little ways) where the screws should go.  But don’t go too far, the screws aren’t very big.

Next, it’s time to assemble.  Screw through the bottom piece of wood into your post.

IMG_0984

Once you have it completely screwed in, you might need to twist it a little to make sure it is straight.

IMG_0980

IMG_0981It should look like this.  And make sure that where you predrilled for your hook is towards the front.

Then you can paint!!  My post  was already painted white, and it was all chippy looking.  I wanted to keep it ‘shabby chic’, so I didn’t do too much paint.  I wanted some of the white to show through.  I just did 1 coat of black spray paint that I got at Walmart for $1.  I really love the way it turned out.

IMG_0990

IMG_0985

When your paint is dry, attach your hook.IMG_0988

IMG_0987And you’re done!!

IMG_0992Start to finish, this took me less than an hour.  Most of that was waiting for the spray paint to dry!  Overall, since I already had the post, this cost me about $10 to make.  If you have to buy the post, it’s more like $15.  Still a pretty good price if you ask me!

IMG_0995It worked perfectly to display our wreath, and I’m sure I will use this in my home for a long time.

 

Leave a Reply

