Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Roasted Vegetables

on January 15, 2014

I am a HUGE fan of veggies.  I will eat pretty much any vegetable you put in front of me, even the ‘gross’ ones.  Cabbage?  Yep.  Asparagus?  Absolutely!  Brussel sprouts? Oh yes, talk dirty to me!  The bf, however, does NOT like any vegetable except CORN.  Do you know how many times I have had corn in the past few months!?  Ahhhh!  It is definitely losing it’s appeal.

So since I have basically been craving any vegetable that wasn’t corn, I roasted a bunch of different vegetables.  And I do mean a bunch.  I think I ate on this for a week lol.  But it was delicious.  And scrumptious.  And just hit the spot.  It’s not really a recipe, I’d say it’s more of a method.  But it was so simple that I thought I would share it anyway.  You can pretty much do any variety of vegetables, you’ll just want to make sure that if you get something that takes longer to cook (potatoes, carrots, etc), that you cut them smaller so that they will get done around the same time.

You can also play around with the seasonings.  Creole, garlic salt, and pepper are pretty much my go to spice mix because I like the heat factor.  But I have also used a Mrs. Dash type seasoning where they mix it up for you and it was SO GOOD.  Just use what you’ve got and I’m sure it will be delish!  Heck, it would be good with just salt and pepper!  I have also made these and then added them to pasta dishes– alfredo pasta with scallops and roasted veggies?  My fave!

CAM03153

Roasted Vegetables

2 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced into 1″ pieces

2 regular potatoes, diced into 1″ pieces

3 stalks celery, chunked

5 carrots, sliced into 1″ pieces

1 medium onion, chunked

1 yellow squash, cubed

Vegetable oil

Creole seasoning, to taste

Garlic salt, to taste

Pepper, to taste

Add all of your chopped veggies to a BIG bowl.  Add a few tablespoons of veggie oil and toss to coat.  Add whatever seasonings you’d like and toss again.  Spread on an ungreased cookie sheet and put into a preheated 375 degree oven.  Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until your veggies are fork tender.

CAM03150

Leave a Reply

