Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Corn Dog Muffins

on January 7, 2014

So my cute little 4 year old niece Ainsley came over for a sleepover a few weeks ago.  I usually have all kinds of things planned to do, but we usually just end up playing and reading books and going to bed without doing any of them.  This time was different though.  I made sure I had everything ready and we started EARLY.  Like, we started making dinner at 5 o clock.  I wanted to watch a movie with her and eat popcorn and I even bought a bottle of sparkling white grape juice that I knew she would just love, so I knew we needed to allow plenty of time.

I told her that we were going to make dinner together and she was just so excited, she has always loved to help me in the kitchen.  I chose something super simple that I knew that she would be able to help me with.  She is able to measure (when I give her the measuring cup or spoon), she can stir, and she can even crack an egg.  Sometimes I have to fish out some shell, but hey, I even have to do that when I crack an egg open lol.

IMG_0560We made corn dog muffins!  She thought it was just TOO COOL and she actually did most of the work.  Basically all we did was take two boxes of Jiffy corn muffin mix, a can of cream corn, and a package of hot dogs.  We followed the directions on the box, dumped in the corn, mixed it up, scooped it out, and stuck a hot dog in the top!

IMG_0558I gave her an ice cream scoop that I got at the Dollar Tree (I actually use that to make cupcakes, too!) and she had no problem at all.  I was pretty impressed!

IMG_0561

After she scooped half of them out, I chopped up some pickled jalapenos and added it to the rest of the batter.  Auntie likes a little heat!

IMG_0562Then I just cut 6 hot dogs in half and she stuck them right in.

IMG_0563

IMG_0564She thought that was pretty fun!

IMG_0565

And hey, sometimes you just need a hot dog break.

IMG_0566IMG_0567

She was pretty proud!

IMG_0570

Then I just baked them like the box said.  Easy peasy!!

IMG_0572And completely delicious!!!  Ainsley approved!

IMG_0583

They were the best muffins we had ever had!

We ended the night watching Wall E (which I might add, is the cutest movie I think I’ve ever seen!) , eating marshmallow popcorn, and drinking sparkling white grape juice out of special tea cups.  It was a blast and I’m pretty sure she drank half of the bottle!  I can’t wait for us to do it again.

Corn Dog Muffins

2 boxes corn muffin mix, plus the eggs, water, etc listed on the package

1 can cream corn

6 hot dogs

Prepare the cornbread mix, following the directions on the package.  Add the cream corn and mix well.  Put into 12 greased muffin tins.  Cut your hot dogs in half and stick one half into each muffin.  Bake as directed on the package.

Leave a Reply

