Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

DIY Makeup Brush Cleaner

on December 6, 2013

So I have really gotten into make up lately, and I have built up a little collection of make up brushes to apply it.  You are supposed to clean your brushes like once a week, to get all of the makeup and bacteria out of them.  That way you aren’t just swirling that all over your face and possibly causing breakouts.  Well, I have been seeing this really cool glove that is supposed to help you clean your brushes, making it easier and getting them cleaner than just using your hand.

 

BC001-2T

 

The problem?  It’s $35!!  Yeah, I just put that out of my mind thinking heck no, I’m not spending that much!

So you can imagine how happy I was when I came across THIS on Pinterest.  It’s a how to video on making your own version of this glove!  Basically you use a waterproof surface (like a clipboard) and make the dots and patterns like the glove has, using hot glue!

When I saw that I thought, hey that looks super easy.  I should totally do that.  And I did.

This is what my version looks like, or I should say, my first version.

securedownload (2) securedownload securedownload (1)

I could not find a clipboard at my local dollar store, so I ended up getting a little plastic serving tray for $1.  I really just wanted to see if it would work at all.  Well, IT DID!!!  This is a little big to fit under my (small) faucet in my bathroom, but I was still able to use it and I LOVE it!  I am going to find something a little smaller the next time I get to Dollar Tree…maybe even a small cutting board or something.  It took me less than 5 minutes to get this done, and it made cleaning my brushes sooo much easier.  I think it got them a lot cleaner, too.  A few of them went back to their original white color, which I had never been able to get them to do by just hand washing them.

You can watch the video linked above, but the basic idea is that you want to do some small dots, some large dots, then swirls all over the surface.  Then just add some face wash or whatever you use to clean your brushes and start swirling them around.  You will do the same thing after they have all of the makeup out of them, to get the soap out.  Then just rinse it off and let it dry to store.  Pretty cool, huh?!  It’s the same idea as the Sigma glove, just $34 cheaper!

Let me know if you try it and what you think of it!

Leave a Reply

