Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Apple Pie Breakfast

on October 15, 2013
Oatmeal is pretty much the least appetizing food to photograph.  But I swear it tastes good!

Oatmeal is pretty much the least appetizing food to photograph. But I swear it tastes good!

Does anyone else have problems fitting in breakfast before they leave for work?  No?  Just me?  Oh ok, well that’s cool.  I mean, I usually eat something because I can’t NOT eat breakfast or I will starve to death before lunchtime, and me+2 cups of coffee+ empty stomach= a hot jittery, upset stomach mess.   I will usually grab a poptart or cereal bar on my way out the door.  Or, if my hair has behaved that day and I haven’t completely mismanaged my time that morning, I might even get ambitious and kick out a protein shake.  Let’s just say that doesn’t happen too often lol.  I wake up an hour and a half before I leave for work, yet I am rushing around the last half hour because I have watched tv/fallen back asleep/ facebook’d too much. But since I am trying to get back on the ‘losing weight’ bandwagon, I know that the first thing I needed was to start having a filling breakfast.  If I don’t get that, I get hungry, cranky, my sugar drops, etc and I reach for the UNhealthy stuff.

Now, I’ve seen all kinds of baked/crockpot oatmeal recipes on pinterest, but I just haven’t made the effort to make any of them.  But I was browsing the food category the other day trying to come up with dinner ideas, and I kept coming back to the pin for this Apple Pie Breakfast.  It looked easy enough and I had everything on hand except for the steel cut oats, not to mention the fact that I LOVE oatmeal.  Like, LOVVVVEEEE it.  So I checked Walmart when I was there last night, and ummmm….. I am not EVEN paying $5 for a small canister of steel cut oats!  I figured I would just try my luck with the $1.62 old fashioned oats.

I made it home at about 9 o’clock (we live 45 minutes from the nearest Walmart), unloaded my crap and got this in the crockpot.  I knew that I would need to reduce the water a tad (probably 2 3/4 cups), since the steel cut oats take longer to cook, and I actually added 1 heaping cup of oats, to try to make up the difference.  Then I just popped the lid on, cranked it up to high, and let it cook!  I started checking mine after an hour, and it finished up at about an hour and a half.  My house smelled SO good!  After letting it cool down a few minutes (that shit is HOT!) I tasted it and was extremely pleased with myself.  It was delicious!  I did add about 1/3 cup of brown sugar to sweeten it up a tad.

securedownload

This is definitely a recipe I will be making again, and I even plan on playing with the flavors a bit.  I’m thinking bananas, brown sugar, and walnuts?  Sounds like banana nut bread to me!  I’ll let you know if I try that out.  I planned on eating this all week, but I told my sister about it and she asked me to bring her some.  I’m thinking my niece and nephew will love it!!

 

Recipe HERE.

 

Oh, and this would be another CHECK for doing a ‘pinterest project’.

Leave a Reply

