Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Crocheted Halloween Dishcloths

on September 24, 2013

See, told ya I would post something before Thursday!

So I have this board on Pinterest for all kinds of patterns….crochet, sewing, embroidery, etc….and at almost 650 pins, it’s a bit ridiculous.  I’m not sure I would EVER be able to finish all of those patterns, but my new goal is to try a pattern from off of the board at least once a month.  There are so many really cool ideas on there, but if you don’t actually DO them, what’s the point?  So, to put a giant check mark on the first month– I made these!

1175445_10151577010711314_580138444_n

This is actually THREE new dishcloth patterns (I’m an overachiever, what can I say?!), but I they totally go together!  I made this set to take up to the Farmer’s Market I set up at each Saturday morning, and they sold the first day!  I might make a few more sets, but dude……that bat is HARD.  I might just stick to the ghostie and the pumpkin.

I didn’t follow the ghost pattern exactly, because I don’t like my washcloths really big (and I was running out of white cotton yarn…).  I just stopped when I had him about the size of my hand.  The bottom scallops weren’t spaced out exactly right, but overall he was super cute!

The pumpkin worked up super quick and was a really easy pattern.  The stem was the funnest (is that even a word?!) part….it’s crazy how doing more than one stitch in the same space will make that fun curly q!  I have made a few more of those for my booth, too.

Now, the bat on the other hand…..it was kind of difficult.  I don’t know if I lost count somewhere or if the pattern isn’t quite correct, but it just wasn’t working up right.  So I was pretty much just winging it.  Who knows, it was probably my fault anyway.  But either way, he turned out pretty cute!

(I think you will have to be a member of Ravelry to view the patterns, but it’s a fantastic site and I would highly recommend becoming a member)

 

Have you tried any new patterns lately?  Care to share?

Leave a Reply

