Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Chocolate Zucchini Cake

on July 30, 2013

603051_10151513734536314_637772212_n

 

Sooo ….long time, no see (again) right?  I know.  I have been horrible about posting.  Let’s just say that this summer has been a challenging one.  Lots of life changes, some good, some bad, and some just too dang ridiculous to mention.  Things should be slowing down after this week though, so I should have more time to post!  Not to mention that I should be back in my kitchen and should be able to cook more.  I’ll probably share more about that…later.

For now, let’s stick to cake!  This post is about this yummy chocolate zucchini cake!  I have been going up to the farmer’s market and setting up my booth for about a month now.  The best part of that is being able to get first pick of the other booths loot as everyone sets up :-D!  I scored 6 HUGE zucchini for $1 each that I planned to use to make my delicious zucchini salsa and sweet and spicy zucchini relish.  But when I got them home, one of my friends asked if I would make them a zucchini cake!  I had never made zucchini cake but figured it couldn’t be too hard.  So I googled a recipe and found this one.    I whipped it up this weekend, it was really quick and easy!  I did not have buttermilk on hand, so I used the ol’ vinegar trick.  Fill up your measuring cup almost to the point that you need, then just add a tablespoon or so of white vinegar.  Let it sit for a few minutes and you have buttermilk!!  Then I just added a can of milk chocolate icing and called it delish!!  I will definitely be making this again, maybe next year when and if my daddy has his garden again ;-).  Yeah, no garden this year– he had a quadruple bypass at the beginning of June.  I never realized how lucky we were to get all of that fresh produce every year!  Anyway, again, you can find the recipe here.

Now I just need to find a recipe that can match the zucchini bread that one of the ladies brings to the market….my oh my does it look  (and SMELL!)  yummy 😉   Have you ever made zucchini bread or cake?

Leave a Reply

