Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Quick and Easy Ramen Noodle Pad Thai

on March 27, 2013

Today when I went home at lunch, I wanted something filling but not heavy.  I didn’t have any leftovers and didn’t really feel like a sandwich, so a quick check of the pantry yielded a package of ramen noodles.  Hmmm…not really what I had in mind, but I had an idea.

I checked the fridge and pulled out some broccoli, green bell pepper, and a few mushrooms.  Chopped all of that up and started it cooking in a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil and a few shakes of garlic powder.  I started boiling the noodles, but without the packet of seasoning.  When my veggies were starting to get soft, I added in the packet of seasoning (beef) from the noodles, a tablespoon of peanut butter, a teaspoon or so of crushed red pepper, and a few dashes of soy sauce.  The peanut butter melted right away and made a super yummy sauce.  About that time, my noodles were done, so I drained them off and then added them back to the pot.  Then I poured the peanut sauce and veggies all over the noodles and tossed them together.  It was fabulous!!!  It was nice and savory, and it had a little kick from the red pepper flakes.  I think it would have been even better with a few chopped up peanuts on top.  YUM.

I definitely plan on keeping this one in rotation, it’s a good way to use up veggies in the pantry, and compared to take out, a definite ‘healthier’ option for lunch!

3 responses to “Quick and Easy Ramen Noodle Pad Thai

  1. Kris says:

    Sounds good! I’m going to keep this in mind to make for Kota 🙂

  2. jackatessa says:

    It is ridiculously easy and delicious.

  3. Lori says:

    That does sound really good.

Leave a Reply

