Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Red Hot Cinnamon Apples

on February 19, 2013

IMG_5324

Here is another recipe I have neglected sharing, but that is just so, so good!  Red Hot Apples!

I was given a few bags of small apples, and I really wasn’t too sure what to do with them.  I thought about applesauce, but Chris isn’t a huge fan of applesauce, and it sounded like a lot of work lol.  At the time I had a pretty busy schedule, so I needed something quick and easy.  I made some into an apple pie filling (that I will share soon!) and the rest I made into these.

I found the recipe that I used here.  Super simple ingredients, and not to0 much time at all.

Now, the apples that I was using were really small, like fit in the palm of my hand, and they were a pain in the butt to peel.  Needless to say, it took ALOT of them!  Like, probably 15 for the half dozen jars I got.  Next time I will probably just eat those plain and buy a bag of apples for this.

They actually remind me of those spiced apple rings we used to get at school…very tasty!!  I like to chill mine completely before eating, and it was all I could do not to just drink the leftover syrup.  I need to make more of this pronto!!

 

IMG_5323

 

Miranda’s Cinnamon Redhot-Pink Lady Apple Wedges  from http://www.sbcanning.com

4 cups water
1 1/2 cup red-hot candies
2/3 cup sugar
6 medium tart apples, peeled and quartered

Directions
In a large saucepan, bring the water, candies and sugar to a boil over medium heat; boil and stir until candies and sugar are dissolved.
Reduce heat; carefully add apples. Cook in sugar mixture for 10 minutes on low.  Turn off the heat for 10 minutes to let the apples suck up the syrup then just heat them back up to a simmer. Turn off the heat and with a slotted spoon, transfer apples into pint size jars then fill with the sweet liquid. Fill to ½” headspace. Remove air bubbles, wipe rim, add lid/rings. Process in water bath canner 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

