Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Spicy Black Eyed Peas

on January 1, 2013

So I know that New Years is almost over, but I just thought I would share a delicious way of preparing black eyed peas!  Every New Years day since I was little, we always had to have a spoonful of black eyed peas.  And I say spoonful because of course we hated beans and didn’t want to eat them, but Dad’s rule was always ‘one spoonful’ of something.  And we had better make it a good spoonful or he would dish it up for us.  You never wanted that!  But I have made sure to carry on the tradition, and I fix a can every year. Normally I would just dump it in and salt and pepper and call it good!  But this year, my hubby was refusing to even try them, so I thought I would make them extra yummy to maybe entice him to try them!! (for some reason he wouldn’t follow the one spoonful rule….brat).  Well, I threw some things together and came up with this recipe…and it smelled so good that I caught him with a fork in the pan!!  He proclaimed them delicious and ate half of them lol!!

The best thing about this, you could use this recipe on other beans, like black beans, chickpeas, or even added to a can of pork and beans!  Yum yum!

So here you go–

Spicy Black Eyed Peas

1 can black eyed peas, drained

2 slices bacon, cut into chunks

4 tablespoons jarred sliced jalapeno juice, with a few jalapenos included

Garlic salt, to taste

Pepper, to taste

Onion powder, to taste

In a small pot over medium heat, add your bacon.  Stir and cook until crispy.  Add your can of diced black eyed peas.  Then add the rest of your seasonings, to taste– I pretty much just did a few shakes of each– and stir.  Cook for 5 minutes until everything is warmed through.  Serve by the spoonful!!

 

Happy New Year to You and Yours!!  I’m looking forward to a great 2013 with you all!

Leave a Reply

