Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Old Bay Zucchini Pickles

on September 10, 2012

Looking for another way to use your zucchini?  I found this recipe on Pinterest, and thought it was worth a try.  This is actually just a recipe for two pint jars, and you put the ingredients in the jar, then add your vinegar on top of it.  Since I had quite a bit of zucchini, I think I did the recipe 3 or 4 times before I ran out of ingredients.  I would have preferred to do a big batch of liquid, but I don’t know if that just wouldn’t get enough of the seasoning in each or what.  But I do know that it says you should wait two weeks before you eat them, so after that, I’ll let ya know!

I did taste the liquid, and it was really good!!  Old Bay isn’t a seasoning I would normally think of when I think pickles, but it totally works.  Also, I don’t know what the heck tein tsin dried peppers are, so I just added 1/4 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes to each jar, and you can taste the heat!!  Oh, and I didn’t have bay leaves, so I just didn’t use them.  Oh well!

I think these will be really yummy when we have fried fish, or maybe at lunch with a bologna sandwich.  Let me know if you make them!!

One response to “Old Bay Zucchini Pickles

  1. […] to use it- making crushed pineapple out of it, zucchini salsa, sweet and spicy zucchini relish, Old Bay zucchini pickles, and even a zucchini jam – but this is different.  In the previous recipes, you combine it with […]

Leave a Reply

