Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Sweet and Spicy Zucchini Relish

on August 23, 2012

Another fabulous zucchini recipe! This recipe for Sweet and Spicy Zucchini Relish is definitely a keeper.  The brine that it uses is totally addicting.  Sweet and hot (duh), and I love the addition of the red bell peppers.  I am making more of this for sure!!  I think I will also make the brine and put it on chunks of zucchini and zucchini spears for a Sweet and Spicy Zucchini pickle!!  OHHHH man is that gonna be good!!

This kind of reminded me of fire and ice pickles.  When I was growing up, one of my friends had a family friend that would give them fire and ice pickles and I just loved them!!  I would eat and eat them until it made my stomach hurt.  Mmmmmmm.

If you make this, just know that your entire house is going to smell like vinegar, lol.  C came in while I was cooking and was like, “What is that SMELL?!”  But it does go away!!  I lit some candles and that helped a lot, too.

Another tip is to use a BIG bowl!  You have to let that zucchini, peppers, and onions really sweat out a lot of juice, so it needs the room!  Also, I didn’t have fresh dill, so I just used a tablespoon of dill seed.  And if you don’t want so much ‘spicy’, just decrease the amount of crushed red pepper that you use.

I can’t wait to use this on hot dogs (don’t you just love a hot dog with relish?! yum!) and I will probably give a few away, maybe even in Christmas baskets.  Yes, it’s that good.  So make it.  Seriously.

Recipe HERE.

2 responses to “Sweet and Spicy Zucchini Relish

  1. This is a fantastic recipe, we love it!! Due to Picky-picky husbands tender stomach, I had to tone back the spice, but it really is delicious and you are right, perfect for gift baskets!!

Leave a Reply

