Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Canned Diced Tomatoes

on August 8, 2012

My dad has a HUGE garden that he plants every year, and he shares with all of us girls.  He brought me two grocery sacks full of tomatoes, so I went online to check out some ideas that people had for canning them.  I found a tutorial with pictures on Rhoda’s blog here  that has a great way of explaining it.  Not to mention it seemed pretty easy, and I had all of the stuff…meaning salt lol!

So I started cranking out some batches, but to be honest, I just chopped my tomatoes up pretty small and left the skins on.  The only difference is that there will be little pieces of skins in the stuff I cook, but that doesn’t really bother me.  It was super quick and EASY to do this, and I put away quite a few jars for the year!  I have already used it to make chili…twice :-).  It was perfect!!

So hopefully if you have a garden full of tomatoes, or if you are gifted some, you can put it back to use throughout the year.  I can’t wait to open this in January/February and be reminded of summer!  It’s also a good money saving idea, basically your only expense is salt and jars if you have the tomatoes already.  So literally pennies per jar, as opposed to a good $1- $1.50 at the store.  Yay!

Recipe/tutorial  HERE.

P.S.– this is the jar that I won 2nd place on at the fair this year 😀

2 responses to “Canned Diced Tomatoes

  1. What a great dad!! I wish someone would bring me bags of tomatoes (they grow, but very well here in Alaska) and they are $3 a pound in the store!!

Leave a Reply

