Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Fair Time!

on July 31, 2012

This past week was the local county fair.  This was also the first year I have been on the fair board.  Let’s just say that you have NO IDEA how much work goes into a fair lol!!  I spent all the time that I could up there, and I had a blast!  We did a few new things this year, like a hot dog eating contest, a big(ger) vendor fair, and we were supposed to have a mechanical bull bucking contest, but the bull didn’t make it.

One of my very favorite things about the fair, though, would have to be the open class entries.  I love to look through everything, see who brought what, who won what, etc etc.  People have hidden talents that I would have otherwise never known about if I didn’t see them there.  This year I entered some photos, some canned goods, and some crocheted items, 20 items total (13 of them were photos).  There is nothing better than walking up to your category after judging and seeing your item there with a ribbon on it!!

Here is what I came home with this year…ImageI got blue on my canned plums, a photo of my canned plums (which was my absolute favorite photo I entered!!), my candy apple jelly, a cupcake hat, and a football hat.  I received red on my grapefruit jelly and my diced tomatoes, and a white on my ‘digital creations’ photo of my table at the farmers market.

I hope that if you have a local fair, you take the time to enter stuff.  If no one enters, they will eventually die out and that would just be so sad.  It’s something most of our grandparents and great grandparents used to do and look forward to all year.  It’s something that I look forward to all year, too. 😉

Leave a Reply

