Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Sweet and Spicy Chili

on July 24, 2012

So C and I just celebrated our 5th anniversary this month. And during those 5 years, I have not made him chili.  I mean, we have eaten chili, leftovers from when we do a Bingo fundraiser or if one our moms send it home with us.  And I have helped make chili with my mom…I dump the cans that she tells me to lol.  But I have not made chili, here at home, by myself…until today!

C is the on the volunteer fire department here in town, (he is actually the chief) so he is gone a lot during the summer on grass fires and wrecks and stuff like that.  Well, last night at 3 a.m., the pager and scanner went off, calling the fire department to a house fire here in town.  C went, of course, and I turned the scanner off and went back to sleep.  Well, when I woke up at 7 this morning, he was still gone.  Not that big of a deal, since fires can take a LOOONGGG time to be put out completely, but when I hadn’t heard from him by noon, I knew it was a big one.

I cleaned the house, did the dishes and laundry, and was trying to figure out what we would have for dinner.  I had started canning some tomato sauce night before last, but didnt’ get it cooked all the way down before I had had to leave, so I just stuck it in the fridge and thought I would get back to it.  Well…I didn’t wanna lol.  So I figured I would try to make some chili with it!!  I scrounged up a packet of chili seasoning (where the hell did that come from?!) and checked the pantry.  My mom uses chili beans, but I didn’t have any of those.  I did have some black beans and some pinto beans.  I figured beans were beans and they would work!  The brown sugar is a not to my mom’s ‘Chili Kids Love’ that I have had my whole life, but I wanted a little spice, too, so I added in the ground red pepper.  (Is that cayenne or paprika?  It’s a generic of the real thing, so I’m not sure lol!) The corn was just kind of an impulse, and I really liked it.  I served this over corn chips, with shredded cheese on top.  YUM!   I will definitely be making this again!!

 

 

Sweet and Spicy Chili  

1 lb. ground beef

1 onion, chopped

1 can black beans

1 can pinto beans

1 pkg chili seasoning

2 large cans diced tomatoes

Water

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

1/2 tablespoon ground red pepper

2 cups frozen corn

Brown hamburger and onion in a big pot.  Drain off grease.  Add back to pot.  Drain and rinse cans of beans and add to pot.  Add tomatoes, brown sugar, frozen corn, and ground red pepper.  Add two of the tomato cans of water to pot.  Bring to a simmer and simmer for 1 1/2- 2 hours on medium low heat. You could also put it in a crockpot and let it cook all day while you are gone.

One response to “Sweet and Spicy Chili

  1. You had me at chili. Richard

Leave a Reply

