Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Mom’s Country Style BBQ Pork Ribs

on July 22, 2012

When C and I lived in North Carolina while he was stationed there, one thing that I definitely noticed was how inexpensive pork was, and how expensive beef was.  Being from Kansas, this was opposite of what I was used to, so I made sure to take advantage.

I could get a giant package of country style pork ribs for under $5, and if I got it on sale, it would be half that.  I had never made ribs before, so I bought a package, looked up a recipe, and grilled it.  They were awful!  The BBQ sauce burnt, they were tough, and just not very appetizing at all.  While looking through a Kraft Food and Family magazine, they had a little article on ribs, and how you should BOIL them before you cooked them!  What?!  That seemed kind of weird to me, but hey, I would try anything.  It had to be better than the ribs I had made.

They were amazing!  I could pull them apart with a fork, the sauce was nice and ‘sticky’, not burned at all, and everyone loved them. Now, normally I am not the griller in our family, C takes care of that, but anytime we have ribs, you can bet it’s going to be me out there turning them!

This recipe is one that I had at my mom’s house.  They were some of the best ribs I have ever tasted.  They are absolutely fall apart tender and the sauce is amazing!  Thanks for sharing, Mom! 😉

 

Mom’s Country Style BBQ Pork Ribs

8 lbs country style pork ribs

Place in a large stock pot, cover with water.  Add 1/2 chopped or sliced onion and 1 tablespoon seasoning salt.  Bring to boil and cook over medium-high heat for 1 hour.

In medium saucepan combine:

3 cups ketchup

1 cup bbq sauce

1 cup brown sugar

1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice

2 teaspoon worchestershire sauce

3 tablespoons steak sauce (we use Heinz 57)

2 cloves garlic, minced or 1 teaspoon minced garlic from the jar

Cook over medium heat for approximately 20 minutes.

Place meat on top rack of grill, cook 15 minutes then turn and brush on bbq mixture.  Cook 15 minutes then turn and brush on sauce.  Cook 15 minutes more, remove and serve.

One response to “Mom’s Country Style BBQ Pork Ribs

  1. This is a fantastic way to tenderize pork for the grill, my family loves it.

Leave a Reply

