Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Pineapple Zucchini

on July 17, 2012

*Wowza, I hadn’t realized it had been so long since I posted!  Things have been kind of nuts around here, and we just got back from a vacation in Vegas, but I”ve been meaning to post this one for awhile!  Hope you are keeping cool!*

If you are like me, and right about now you have eleventy billion pounds of zucchini and you aren’t quite sure what to do with it– I’ve got a fun suggestion.  I had pinned this recipe a while back while reading one of my favorite blogs, Hickery Holler Farms.

I’m not a big fan of freezing zucchini, the texture is just not for me when it is thawed out.  I could shred it up for zucchini bread, but I know me and I really won’t use it.  It will sit in my freezer where I will eventually get mad and throw it out.  But, I DO use pineapple!  I was thinking muffins, maybe asian recipes that call for pineapple, and maybe mixing it with a cake mix!

I actually loaded up my canner and the supplies for this and took it to my dad’s house so that my stepmom and I could make it together.  We did the shredded version first and ended up with 17 half pints!! Wow! And let’s just saw we overestimated the amount it would take to get the cups required, so we had quite a few left that I chunked up at home and made.  I think I got nine more pints out of that batch.

So basically for the cost of a can of pineapple juice (about $2.50) and some sugar, you can get 17 jars of ‘crushed pineapple’.  Definitely a cost saver!

As I use this, I will try to post the recipes that turn out!

One response to “Pineapple Zucchini

  1. […] did find a few ways to use it- making crushed pineapple out of it, zucchini salsa, sweet and spicy zucchini relish, Old Bay zucchini pickles, and even a zucchini […]

Leave a Reply

