Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Canned Peaches

on June 22, 2012

My sister brought me in a bag of peaches that she had picked off a tree in her yard and asked if I could can them.  Well, I’d never canned peaches before, but you bet!!  So I googled a little bit, and it’s actually very simple and similar to the canned plums that I posted this week.  Basically you clean the fruit, cold pack it, and then pour boiling simple syrup on it.   Simple syrup is a mixture of water and sugar, heated to boiling so that all the sugar crystals dissolve.  Since the peaches were so sweet already, I didn’t want to add a whole lot of extra sugar.  Plus, my niece and nephew will be the ones eating them, and they are definitely sweet enough already :-).

This is the first year that I am canning fruits, and I have to say I am in love with it!  To think that all this fruit was free!  We just had to go outside and pick it off a tree!  The fact that you don’t cook it keeps the flavors nice and fresh and pure.  Now, in December, when fruit will be so expensive I won’t want to buy it, I can go to my pantry and pull out some fresh peaches (because you better believe I’m keeping a jar 😉 )!

I used this site …. http://www.pickyourown.org/peachescanning.htm  I used the ‘light syrup’ for mine.

Let me tell you that that trick with the boiling water, then ice water bath for the peaches?  Slips those skins right off!  But if you make this, save those peelings…I found a recipe that uses them.  I just put them in a container and threw them in my freezer.

Oh, and check out this adorable canning jar I found!  I am not sure if this came from my Dad’s house when he gave me a ton of them, or if it came from this nice lady I bought 5 dozen jars from.  She said that some of the jars were over 100 years old!  Either way, I thought it was great!  Happy Friday!!

One response to “Canned Peaches

  1. I thoroughly enjoy canning and putting up jam and relishes, I wish someone would bring ME a big basket of fruit, lol.

Leave a Reply

