Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Canned Plums

on June 18, 2012

So, the other day my boss brought me two HUGE bowls full of these little plums.  We don’t really know what kind they are, but they came off of her flowering plum tree that she has in her yard.  They are about the size of golf balls and they are more on the tart side.  They were soooo good!  I kept going to the back room and popping one in my mouth.  Yum yum!!  The only downside is the pit, which is kind of difficult to get out.

So after she hands them to me, I am thinking, hmm what to do, what to do?  So I looked on Pinterest and the first thing that caught my eye was to just can them whole! 

The process could NOT be simpler, and I will get to have plums all winter!!  Perfect!

This recipe will work with any plum, even the big ones, which I would cut those in half or even quarter them so they wouldn’t have pits.   These will soften up, so I don’t imagine the pits will bother me when I eat them.  I’ll just be able to pop them out no problem!

I plan on gathering up some more plums, my sister has a sand plum tree in her yard, and canning some for her for her babies to eat.  Oh, and after you can them, some of the color comes out of the plums and they are a GORGEOUS purple color!!  I ended up getting 8 quarts out of the two bowls, and I did two batches of the liquid.  So since you pack them before you start, I’d just go with that math—1 batch of liquid for every 4 quarts of packed jars.

Recipe here!!

5 responses to “Canned Plums

  1. I am SOOOO envious, plums cost a fortune here.

    • jackatessa says:

      They are pretty expensive here, too! That’s why I was pretty excited!! The lucky people with fruit trees in their yard just don’t know how good they have it lol!

  2. Gloria says:

    I had come across this on Pinterest and was intrigued because we have a plum tree in the backyard of our new house. I canned three half gallon jars this summer. I just (1/5/14) opened our first jar and oh my goodness I’m totally delighted! The plums are delicious!!! I reduced a bit of the liquid and used that on my cheesecake. The plums I used as toppings as well and I also used both the liquid and the plums to make some plum yogurt. I’m quite excited to see how that will all turn out. The plums are my new favorite project and I’m so very excited to do a bunch more jars this summer. Thanks for sharing!!!!

  3. Diane says:

    They are Potawatomi plums

Leave a Reply

