Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Guava Honeysuckle Jelly

on May 11, 2012

 

After making my honeysuckle jelly, I had some of the ‘tea’ left over (click here to learn how to make it).  It seemed wrong to just throw it out, and I thought about freezing it, but I’d probably forget it was in there.  So a quick search of the fridge yielded a carton of guava juice.  Hmm that would work!  I get my juice at Dollar Tree or at my grocery store (where it’s also a dollar).  Here is what it looks like…

I googled a bit, but couldn’t find any recipes that combined the two, so here is what I came up with.  It set fine and is quite delicious! 

Guava Honeysuckle Jelly

1 1/2 cups of honeysuckle tea (see this post for info on how to make tea)

2 cups guava juice

1/4 cup lemon juice

5 cups sugar

1 pouch liquid pectin

Prepare 5 half pint jars in a hot water bath.

In a large saucepan, add juices, lemon juice, and sugar.  Bring to a rolling boil that can’t be stirred down.  Add liquid pectin and stir to combine.  Bring back to boil and boil hard for 2 minutes.  Remove from heat and ladle into hot, sterilized jars.  Top with lids that have been in simmering water and return to hot water bath.  Process for 5 minutes.  Remove from water and let sit on counter until cool.  Make sure jar is sealed, label, and store in a cool dark place for up to a year.

Leave a Reply

