Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Orange Vanilla French Toast Casserole

on March 8, 2012

Have you ever had a cookout , bought hot dogs, and bought the same amount of buns.  I mean, it makes sense, I buy 16 hot dogs, I need 16 buns.  But it never turns out right, I always end up with extra buns!  And like, not a couple, but a whole bag?  Who is this hot dog eater that doesn’t use buns and why can I not walk out of the grocery store with fewer buns than dogs?  Oh well, I guess it may be a mystery that is never solved.  So I had some extra bags of buns sitting on my counter that I needed to use up and thought I would make a french toast casserole with them.  It turned out great and I will definitely be doing it again.  I threw in the orange zest since my little niece is on an orange kick lately and would eat them all day long if we let her lol. 

(I don’t have a picture, sorry.  But it’s still good!)

Orange Vanilla French Toast Casserole

1 package hot dog buns (or about half a loaf of regular bread)

4 eggs

1 cup milk

1 tablespoon vanilla

Zest and juice of one orange

1 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Grease a casserole dish- I used a smaller size since it was just a few of us.  Slice your bread and arrange in dish.  In separate bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, cinnamon, sugar, vanilla, orange zest and juice.  Pour over bread (it should cover it, or at least get darn close).  Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight. 

Preheat oven to 375.  Bake french toast for 30-45 minutes, or until golden brown and puffy.  Stab it with a fork- it should come up clean.  Serve warm with maple syrup.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

