Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Turkey and Fried Potato Casserole

on March 6, 2012

 So have you ever had those days where you just really don’t know what the heck to cook and nothing really sounds good?  Well, I had one of those the other night, and after not being thrilled with the thought of making Hamburger Helper…again….I decided to just come up with something out of the pantry.  As I was making it, my husband was in the kitchen keeping me company and I kept saying, ‘Hun, I don’t even know if this will be good.’ and he kept assuring me that whatever, we’d eat it anyway.  Turns out, I’m a flippin’ genius and this was one of the best things I’ve had in a long time.  It almost tastes like a turkey pot pie, but the fried potatoes and the sweet corn?  Totally take it over the top.  And speaking of the top, club crackers that I had leftover from our Paparazzi Open House (I will talk about that soon, too…..) that were too stale to eat turned out to be perfect crunchy, buttery topping.  Yum.  We each ate two bowls (with NO sauce, pepper, anything, which is big for us lol!) and wanted to keep eating but we thought we were going to bust.  I’ve been eating the leftovers all week and I was sad when someone asked me to go eat with them, because it meant I wouldn’t get to have this lol!  So seriously, make this.  It’s delicious.  And it’s pretty cheap– I was going to use canned cream of whatever soup, but didn’t have any on hand and boy am I glad I didn’t!  Making a roux saved me money, and I got to customize the flavor to exactly how I wanted it.  The corn was free, came from my dad’s garden last year, 3 carrots out of a 69 cent bag, 3 potatoes, and a free onion from someone.  The turkey we shot and processed last year, and I cooked it and froze it in individual servings.  I am super happy with this recipe and I hope you will be, too!!  Let me know what you think!

Turkey and Fried Potato Casserole

3 potatoes, peeled and cubed

3 carrots, peeled and sliced

1 onion, diced

2 cups cooked turkey, diced

2 cups sweet corn

4 tablespoons + 1/2 C vegetable oil, divided

1/2 cup flour

3 cups chicken broth

1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

2 cups crushed club crackers

PAM, or other cooking spray

Salt and pepper, to taste

Seasoning salt- to taste

Garlic salt/powder, to taste

Ok, so first start your 4 tablespoons of oil on medium heat in a LARGE skillet.  Wash, peel, and dice your potatoes.  They should all be about the same size, and they should be on the smaller size.  Add to your hot oil.  Sprinkle liberally with your seasoning salt.  While that gets a head start, start chopping your onion.  Peel it, half it, and chop into a larger dice (you want them bigger than the potatoes so they won’t burn).  Add that to your potatotes.  Peel and slice your carrots, about the size of your onions.  Add that to your skillet.  Cook until your potatoes are tender and your onions are translucent.

While the potatoes are cooking, add 1/2 cup of oil to another skillet.  Let that get hot.  Sprinkle your flour on top, letting it sit and bubble for a minute or so.  It will start to ‘toast’, but don’t let it burn.  Start whisking, letting it cook long enough to get the floury taste out.  Start adding your chicken broth, a bit at a time, until you get a very loose sauce.  Meaning a little bit thinner than you want the end result (it will keep cooking and thicken up). Salt and pepper, it makes a huge difference!  Without it, it tastes like….flour? lol  I probably added 1 tablespoon of salt, but I used unsalted broth.  Just to your taste.  I also added the garlic powder/salt at this point.

Now, when your potatoes have cooked and you have your roux ready, spray a large baking dish, I used a 9×13, with cooking spray and dump your two mixtures in.  Add your chopped turkey, 2 cups of sweet corn (I used frozen from last year’s garden, but you can get it canned) and your cheese.  Mix it all up and spread around the pan evenly.  Crunch up your club crackers and spread over your casserole.  Spray the top liberally with the cooking spray, making sure you hold the can back or you will have crackers EVERYWHERE!

Place in a preheated 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes, or until completely heated through and your crackers are crunchy and brown.  Serve warm.

2 responses to “Turkey and Fried Potato Casserole

  1. Isn’t it heavenly when it “all comes together” and everyone loves it?!?!?

Leave a Reply

