Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Steak with Seafood Cream Sauce

on February 15, 2012

 So did you do anything special for Valentine’s Day?  C and I decided to stay in and I made him this yummmmmmmy dinner, so I thought I would share!  We get our beef processed by the quarter, or half, depending on who we are splitting it with, so we always have fresh meat, and a lot of it.  So since we have such a big supply at the ready, I knew I wanted to do something with beef aka steak since it was a special dinner.  I pulled out two packages of rib eyes, because I couldn’t remember how many were in a package.  Well, turns out that there are TWO to a package, and they were HUGE!  I’m talking like two inches thick.  Haha!  But at least I get to enjoy this yummy meal again with the leftovers!

See? HUGE.

So anyway, I thawed those out at lunch time, but really had no idea what else I was going to do.  I thought about it through the afternoon and decided that I wanted some kind of cream sauce that used shrimp and that imatation crab stuff (yes, I love it).  Surf and turf type of thing.  Then I just headed to the store after work, picked up a few things, and off I went to start cooking!

 
(Ok, so I didn’t get any pictures of making the sauce, so I’ll just put that in the recipe)
 
 
Now for the steak!
 
I used rib eyes, but use your favorite cut of meat.  Salt and pepper both sides generously.  Heat a grill pan, or use your outdoor grill.  I brushed my pan with butter before I started, then just added a bit of butter anytime I thought it was getting too dry.  When the skillet is hot, put the steaks in.  They should sizzle and sound delicious.  And yes, I think they can SOUND delicious….you will, too. 

 These suckers were so big I could barely fit them in the pan!  I sprinkled on a bit of Montreal Steak seasoning (can’t remember the brand, sorry) and let them cook.  Since they were so thick, I had a hard time deciding if they were done.  Here is a little video on how to tell when it’s done that I should have looked up BEFORE I started lol… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0y2aIAvK75g .  I like a medium on mine, and I think I overcooked it a bit, but they were still delish!

 Man those look good!  It’s good to let the steaks sit for a few minutes before eating to let the juices settle.

 Then just plate them up and serve with the sauce over the top!!  YUUUUUM!  We also had some cheesy garlic mashed potatoes, a strawberry pecan salad and garlic crescent rolls.  I’ll share those recipes next!

 

Steak with Seafood Cream Sauce

4 steaks (I used rib eye)

1/2 onion, diced

1/2 red bell pepper, sliced into thin strips

2 teaspoons minced garlic (I use it out of a jar)

2 cups chicken stock

1 cup half and half

4 oz imitation crab meat, separated

6 oz. precooked salad shrimp

4 tablespoons butter, divided

2 tablespoons veggie oil

Salt and pepper

Montreal steak seasoning

For the sauce:

Add a bit of butter and oil to a pan.  Throw in the onion and red bell pepper.  Saute until they are starting to get soft and the onions are translucent.  Add the minced garlic and let that cook just until you start to smell the garlic (you don’t want it to burn).  Add in some chicken broth and half and half.  Salt and pepper as needed.  Let simmer until it is thick and bubbly.  The last few minutes of cooking, throw in your shrimp and crab to heat up.

For the steak:

Salt and pepper steaks and add to a preheated, buttered, grill pan.  Season with montreal steak seasoning and cook to desired doneness (it really just depends on how you like your steak cooked and the cut you use.)  Remove from heat and let rest for a few minutes.  Serve with sauce.

Leave a Reply

