Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Savory Burgers

on February 10, 2012
Click for source
So I don’t know about you guys, but I have actually never been a big fan of hamburgers.  I mean, I like the ones I can get at the fair stand during the county fair, and I can scarf down a McDouble in a hot second, but burgers made at home?  Not my thing. 
So last night when I found myself in the midst of 5 extra guests (although can you really call sisters ‘guests’?) and not a whole lot of options in the freezer except for a half a cow we had butchered, I knew it would involve ground beef.  After a quick poll of meatballs vs. meatloaf vs. hamburgers, we went with the burgers.  Having made hamburgers at home only a couple of times (yes, I’m serious), I wasn’t too sure on how I would season them.  A quick pantry search, a couple packets of brown gravy mix and some onion dip mix, some breadcrumbs, and I was in business!  I always put breadcrumbs in my meatballs, and I like the texture of those much better, so that’s why I thought I’d try them in here.
These cooked up super soft and delicious and everyone just LOVED them!  I used 4 lbs of ground beef, but I’m sure you could just do however much you need.  And yes, we ended up with approx. 15 burgers left.  My bad.  No one can ever say they leave my house hungry.  I also use a touch of oil at the beginning, even though they produce tons of grease, because I think it helps create a nice, crispy crust.  If it’s too much, just pour some of it out into a glass bowl. 
You could mix up an extra batch of this and either have the leftovers for lunch through the week, or freeze it, already seasoned.
 
Savory Burgers
2 lbs ground beef
1 packet brown gravy mix, I used McCormick’s low sodium
1 packet french onion dip mix
2 tablespoons worchestershire sauce
1/2 tablespoon garlic powder
1/4 cup dried breadcrumbs
1 tablespoon oil
 
Mix all ingredients together.  Shape meat into patties and fry in skillet with oil that’s been heated.  Once they have a brown, crisp crust, flip over and continue cooking on the other side until the juices run clear when you press the top with a spatula.  Drain off extra grease and eat on hamburger buns!
 
Leave a Reply

