Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

PW’s Spicy BBQ Whiskey Sliders and Salsa Recipe

on February 6, 2012

So I’m a little late to jump on the ‘Superbowl Food’ bandwagon, but I thought I’d share these recipes anyway.   The hubs and I just stayed home this year instead of going to parties like we normally do, but I wanted to be sure that we had some yummy food! 

Photo from Pioneer Woman

I had seen these Spicy BBQ Whiskey Sliders on Pioneer Woman and they looked delicious.  I’m going to use PW’S pics, too, since anything I put up just pales in comparison. I made just a few substitutions so that I could use what I had on hand and those were:

– I used half ground beef and half ground pork.  It was delicious.

– I added one diced green bell pepper, adding it with the onions.

–  I didn’t toast my buns and I added cheddar cheese.

They turned out GREAT!  The house smelled sooo good while they were cooking, it was all I could do not to just dive in.  I highly reccomend them- I think we will try them in regular size next time, and I am going to put the french fried onions on them.  Fab!!  I think I ate three before I had to quit or I was going to burst.

Photo from Pioneer Woman

I also whipped up a batch of PW’s Restaurant Style Salsa.  I have actually never made salsa from scratch, it always seemed like it had too many ingredients.  But I have been craving salsa like you get at a Mexican restaurant, and I have to say that this is verrry close to it!!  I just threw the ingredients one at a time into my blender, then dumped it into a big tupperware.  And I do mean BIG– it made quite a bit!!!  I plan on freezing at least half of it in ziplocs to pull out later.  I loved how easy it was, and it was pretty cheap.  I had everything on hand except for the tomatoes and rotel- which were less than $2.00, and I used dried cilantro since my store doesn’t carry fresh (and I didn’t want to go to the store even if they did!).  Oh, and I didn’t add cumin.

We also had some velveeta cheese dip, but I think everyone knows how to make that.

And to wash it all down?  The new Bud Light Platinum.

Photo credit

I gotta say, not my fave.  It is very ‘filling’, so I only wanted one.  But I don’t really care, since the only reason I bought them was so that I could slump those gorgeous blue bottles!  Priorities, right?  I’ll upload some pics after I’ve done a few.
 
Ok, that’s all I’ve got today! Have a faaabulous week!
One response to “PW’s Spicy BBQ Whiskey Sliders and Salsa Recipe

  1. Jess says:

    I am addicted to making salsa ever since this summer when my hubby decided to grow a gazillion tomatoes in the back yard. I love making my own but since we have harvested them all I hate having to fork out money for them at the store. Your salsa looks yummy! I may have to try that recipe; however, I like chuncky style so I may have to tweak it. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

