Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Jolly Rancher Vodka

on February 4, 2012

 

Hey all!  I know it’s been a few days, I’ve been doing some travelling for work and I feel like I just can’t get caught back up lol!  So I actually just finished a set of this Jolly Rancher Vodka and HAD to share it with you!!  It’s for a friend who is celebrating her 21st birthday tonight!!  I needed a fun, cute and cheaper gift idea that she would love, and I wanted it to involve alcohol.  I had pinned this on Pinterest, that used skittles and vodka, that I wanted to do, but while I was searching the candy aisle I happened to see bags of Jolly Ranchers (for only $1 each) and thought it would work better!!  You have to strain the ones with skittles a few times and I didn’t think you would have to with the other, and I knew I wouldn’t have much time to put this together, so I thought it would work PERFECT!

So off I went to the liquor store, planning to get plain little bottles of vodka, when I found these Smirnoff with Coconut and the Smirnoff Fluffed Marshmallow!  How fun!  I got 5 bottles (@ $1.25 each).

When I got home, I got out 5 different bowls/tupperware and started unwrapping and separating each flavor.  I had cherry, watermelon, green apple, grape, and I ended up just one blue raspberry, so I added it to the grape, and had a TON of watermelon, so I made another one of those.  Then I just poured my little bottles of vodka right over them and put the lids on!

I let them sit for probably 18 hours, stirring a few times, just to get the candy moving.  If you have longer, let them sit until the candy has completely dissolved.  Then just use a funnel and pour your candy vodka back into the bottles!  There will be a little bit extra, so don’t just pour it all in at once or you will have a mess.  You can keep the extra in the containers, or just pour them all together and have a mixed fruit cocktail.

To package them up, I just put them all in a cellophane bag, making sure to have all the labels pointed out.  Tie the top with a piece of curling ribbon.  Then tie on some more ribbon, I used 6 pieces in varying lengths to start with, and tied it all the way around, so the ribbon circled the whole package.

To curl your ribbon, place the ribbon between your thumb and the opened blade of your scissors.

 

Press firmly, and move your hand and scissors the length of the ribbon.  You have to do it kind of fast, and it should make a pretty curl like this.

Just curl all the ribbon, adding more if you need to, and you are done!  A cute, fun, inexpensive gift!!! Not to mention pretty– just look at those colors!!

And the extra that didn’t fit back in the bottles?  Well it’s pretty good mixed with a bit of Sprite or 7UP.  Cheers!

2 responses to “Jolly Rancher Vodka

  1. kel107 says:

    I totally love these. I do believe I will be making some in the next few days. Thanks sis! 🙂

  2. kMarty says:

    what a great idea….will use this on next family gathering.

Leave a Reply

