Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Stocking Brownies

on January 27, 2012

These are good.

 So very, very good.

And they are easy!  Which makes them even better in my opinion.  I am calling these Stocking Brownies because I used all of my leftover stocking candy in them!  I figured I should probably use all of it up since it’s only a matter of time before my boston terrier, Max, finds it.  He has a nose for chocolate, and if you’ve ever had a boston, then you know that there are no shelves so high that they can’t jump up and get it!  We have actually had to take him to the vet a few times after he has houdini’d (I’m not sure that’s even a word lol) himself a bag of hershey’s kisses.  Anyway, so between Max and the fact that I’ve been a good girl going to the gym lately, I knew some chocolate was in order. (There is nothing that makes me want chocolate more than thinking about the gym.  I realize it’s counter productive, but I can’t help.  I DREAM about chocolate when I exercise lol!!)

These came out sooo fudgy, which is how I want them.  Cakey is ok, but honestly?  I’d rather have to get a fork out to be able to eat my brownies lol!  I started with a mix, then threw a bit of coconut in there because, well because it was on the counter and I thought it sounded good.  Then I tossed in just an assortment of little chocolate candies.  You can use any kind of  candy that you would like, I think I had 3 Musketeers, Milky Ways, Reese’s, and M&M’s.  I kept some back though, so that I could sprinkle it on the top the last 5 minutes of baking.  Then I decided what the heck, added some chocolate syrup (it WAS sugar free though!) and some canned whipped topping, and called it delicious!

I actually like to keep a bag of M&M’s in my freezer to add to brownies whenever I feel like being bad.  Especially the coconut kind…just yum.

I love this picture.

 So do you end up eating all of your stocking candy?  Or do you get tired of it and toss it before you get it finished? 

You could also get candies that coincide with the season– the red, pink, and white M&M’s for Valentine’s Day, green for St. Patty’s etc.  Everyone loves brownies, so they would be a hit at any get together. 

Or you could line the pan with foil, then cut them into individual servings, wrap in plastic wrap and attach a little valentine or note!  I’d rather get one of these over those stinkin’ boxes of conversation hearts ANY DAY!

 

 

 Here’s how you make them:

Stocking Brownies

1 box brownie mix

Eggs, water, and oil as indicated on box

1/2 cup flaked coconut

2 cups assorted chocolate candies (3 Musketeers, Snickers, Milky Way, M&M’s, etc)  chopped

Chocolate syrup, optional

Whipped cream, optional

Preheat oven to temperature indicated on box.  Mix brownies as directed, adding coconut and half of the candy.  Spread into greased pan (I used a 7×10, but just check what size it says on the box).  Bake as directed, adding the rest of the candy the last 5 minutes of baking time.  Remove from oven, let sit for 5 minutes.  Drizzle with chocolate syrup and serve with whipped cream.

   

You’re welcome.

4 responses to “Stocking Brownies

  1. What a great brownie, but I had to laugh at your post title, I was thinking “she’s cooking brownies in a sock?”

    • jackatessa says:

      Haha Coleen! I couldn’t think of any other title, and I knew there were a ton of recipes with Candy Bar Brownies as the name. When they come out with a sock you can bake brownies in, I want it lol!

  2. Judy Croslin says:

    Hahaha! I just showed Michael this and he’s demanding that I make it.

    • jackatessa says:

      Well he must not be denied, so I’d hop to it lol! Actually, I’d make it while he was at work, then take them all out of the pan and put them in a tupperware, leave the pan on the counter so that he finds it and throws a hissy, then give him a brownie when he calms down lol. 🙂 He needs to suffer a bit before he gets the good stuff!

Leave a Reply

