Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Mug Eggs

on January 11, 2012

Ok, weird title I know.  This is just a fun, easy breakfast idea that I thought I would share with you all.  I got my copy of Family Circle the other day and on one of the ads, I saw a neat idea.  Make scrambled eggs in a mug!  Sounded interesting and I wanted to see if it actually worked like they said it would.  Well, it did!  I get fresh eggs from my dad, who has chickens who make more eggs than any of us know what to do with, so this sounded like an easy way to use them up! 

If you are like me, I am totally running around in the morning and I’m not always hungry…until I sit down at my desk, that is.  I don’t really have breakfast-y stuff to snack on (although I totally admit I’ve been hungry enough I’ve eaten popcorn at 830 a.m.), so I usually just go hungry or if I have time, I’ll go to the gas station and get a sandwich.  Not so healthy, right?  Well, no more!!  I am keeping a dozen eggs in the fridge here so that I will always have something to eat that is filling AND good for you.

I will also be using this method at home though….does anyone but me HATE to clean the egg skillet??  It’s totally ucky.  I can just soak the mug and be done.  Here’s the easy way to do it (and please excuse my camera phone at my desk shot….)  Oh, and the weird color?  I like salt, pepper, and a bit o’ ketchup on my eggs :-).

 Mug Eggs

2 eggs

2 tablespoons milk

Shredded cheese

Crack your eggs into your mug and add your milk.  Scramble with your fork.  Put in microwave for 45 seconds.  Take it out, add your cheese and gently mix it a bit with your fork.  Put back in microwave for another 45 seconds.  Donzo! 

Now, don’t just dig in or you will scorch your mouth and spit eggs at your computer and have to pretend you coughed while wiping the screen, hoping your boss didn’t see that.

One response to “Mug Eggs

  1. Great idea !! Even the kids can do this one.

Leave a Reply

