Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Grapefruit Jelly

on January 9, 2012

Isn’t that a gorgeous jelly??  It’s an even prettier orangey pink in person!  It’s a jar of Grapefruit Jelly, and it. is. delicious.  It’s sweet, it’s tangy, and dare I say, it’s sparkly? lol  I know that sounds crazy, but that’s just what I think when I eat it.  I gave away/sold every single jar of this first batch within 5 hours of making it, and I still have people wanting it!!  It’s a very simple recipe that won’t take you any time at all.  You need to know the basics of making jelly, which I went into a little more in depth in this post.  I used Ruby Red Grapefruit juice from the $ Tree for this, and it was wonderful, so I wouldn’t spend a lot getting a name brand.  I packaged some of these up and gave them away in Christmas baskets, too, and my littlest sister, who is heading back to college tomorrow (sad face 😦 ) is taking a jar with her because she likes to dip crackers in it!  Weird, I know, but I’ll bet this, served over cream cheese at a party would be gone in no time flat.  Let me know what you think!!!

Grapefruit Jelly

3 1/2 cups grapefruit juice (I got mine from $ Tree)

1 package powdered pectin

4 cups sugar

Combine the grapefruit juice and powdered pectin in a large, heavy bottomed pot and bring to a boil on high heat.

Remove from heat and add sugar all at once, whisking to incorporate.

Return to heat.  Bring back to a full rolling boil.  Let boil for one minute.

Remove from heat.   Skim off any foam and ladle into hot, sterilized jars.  Process in a hot water bath for 10 minutes.  Remove from water.  Let sit at room temperature (on a dishtowel) for 24 hours, making sure the jars have sealed.

4 responses to “Grapefruit Jelly

  1. What a pretty jelly!!! I make something similar with orange juice.

  2. Teresa says:

    Could you use fresh grapefruit juice?

Leave a Reply

