Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Pomegranate Jelly

on December 20, 2011

This recipe is for some yummy pomegranate jelly.  I think this made SUCH a pretty colored jelly!!  I am putting these in my Christmas baskets that I do every year and I’m sure everyone is going to love them!  I actually just had to stop and go make myself a pb&j before I started because it is soooo good!  The hubster even tasted it and gave it a thumbs up…and that’s kind of a big deal lol!  I normally chase him around with a spoon saying ‘taste it! taste it!’ and he runs away from me!  Anyway-  I really can’t even remember what inspired this recipe…but I knew I wanted to try it.  I looove anything pomegranate and I love anything that sounds different ;-).  I wasn’t able to find plain pomegranate juice at Walmart, which surprised me- they only have it mixed with other stuff like cranberry, unless you want to buy that POM juice that is like $8 a bottle.  Ummmm, no.  Imagine my surprise when I found it in my little hometown supermarket!!  AND it was even on sale for $2.50!!  Woot!  I snatched a couple bottles up and went in search of a recipe.

There were a TON of different options, but it seemed like most of them called for like, 8 cups of sugar or 4 cups of sugar.  I didn’t really want to put in 8 cups- so I just decided to play with it and this is what I came up with.  I did two batches- one with a liquid pectin and one with powdered pectin to see which I liked better.  I didn’t really notice a difference, so it’s just your preference.  The two batches used exactly one bottle of juice and made 17 half pints of jelly.

I will try to explain a bit more for those who are new to canning.  It’s easy, believe me!  And it’s also highly addictive, so just know you have been warned and don’t come to me when you have 5 dozen jars of jelly in your pantry.  Not that I do or anything…..

Pomegranate Jelly

Ok- so to start, you will need 8 clean, half pint jars, with the lids and bands removed.  You will also need a pressure cooker or some pot with some kind of barrier in the bottom so that the jars won’t sit on the bottom of the pan.  Fill it with water and add your jars.  Heat to almost boiling and keep the heat on throughout the process.

 The special supplies you will need:  a ladle, a funnel, tongs, and jar lifter(?).  Oh, and a kitchen towel.

3 1/2 cups pomegranate juice

1 box powdered pectin

5 cups sugar

Pour your juice into a heavy saucepan.  Whisk your pectin in, making sure there are no clumps.

Bring to a full rolling boil over high heat.  Basically that means a boil that you can’t stir down.

As soon as it is at a rolling boil, take it off the heat and pour your sugar in, whisking as you go.

Return to heat and bring to a boil.  Boil hard for 1 minute.   Start taking your hot jars out of your water and put them on a kitchen towel so they will be ready when your jelly comes off.

Remove from heat and skim off any foam that accumulated on the top.  This step isn’t mandatory, but it will just make your finished product look nicer.

Pour into hot, sterilized jars using a ladle and a funnel.

Top with warm lid and put lid on tightly (but not crazy tight!).

Put into a hot water bath (put them back into your big pot of water) and process for 5 minutes.  Remove them and put them back onto a kitchen towel.  If you put them on your cold counter, it will cause the jars to shatter aka not good!

Let them cool completely- try not to touch them for 24 hours, or at least overnight.  You should hear the PING of the lid as they cool- that means that they are sealing.  YAY!  Now you’re done and you’ve got 7 half pints of pretty pomegranate jelly.

— The liquid pectin version will follow…..

One response to “Pomegranate Jelly

  1. […] You need to know the basics of making jelly, which I went into a little more in depth in this post.  I used Ruby Red Grapefruit juice from the $ Tree for this, and it was wonderful, so I […]

Leave a Reply

