Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Onion Dip Baked Chicken

on December 12, 2011

Does anyone else look at the clock at 530 and have absolutely NO idea what to make for dinner?  Yeah, me, too.  Well tonight I knew I had to have something with chicken thighs, since I had a package thawed out in my fridge.  But I just wasn’t really feeling my garlic/pepper seasoning that I usually use, so I started searching…and saw a packet of onion dip mix that I had picked up over the weekend and that hadn’t made it to my pantry yet.  Hmmmm, that sounded interesting!  It turned out SO good!  The thighs were sooo juice, it had a delicious crusty skin, and it even made a nice broth that I used in some buttered garlicky noodles to go alongside.  Low and slow is the way to go with chicken…cooking too high too fast will just dry your chicken out and you’ll lose some flavor.  Here’s how I did it:

Onion Dip Baked Chicken

1 package of 4 chicken thighs, skins on

1 packet of onion dip seasoning

1 cup water

Preheat oven to 375.  Spray a baking pan with some cooking spray so your chicken won’t stick.  Open your seasoning packet and sprinkle just a bit into the bottom of your pan.  Lay your chicken pieces over the seasoning, with the fat side up.  Sprinkle the rest of your seasoning packet over the chicken thighs, rubbing it in a bit.  Pour about 1 Cup of water into the bottom, making sure that you don’t put it over the seasoning and make it run off the chicken.  Put it into the oven and bake it for about an hour or until a meat thermometer reads 170 degrees farenheit.  Serve with buttered noodles.

 

Buttered Garlicky Noodles

1 lb noodles, cooked- linguini, elbow, whatever you have on hand

5 tablespoons butter

2 teaspoons garlic

Broth from Onion Dip Baked Chicken, if you have it

When your noodles are done, turn off fire and drain them, then immediately add your butter and garlic.  Put it back on the burner (turned off) and stir until butter is melted.  Add a bit of reserved broth from your chicken for a bit of extra flavor.

 

Leave a Reply

