Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Yummy Baked Beans

on December 7, 2011

Happy Wednesday everyone!  So today’s post will be for some yummy baked beans that I made last week.

My Father in law brought me some FRESH bacon from the place where we get our beef processed.  They usually have fresh cuts in the front that you can just buy when you go.  So anyway, he brought it to me and told me that he thought it would be super tasty in some beans.  I’d never made baked beans, but I figured it couldn’t be hard, so I called my sis and asked her how she made hers.  She told me that she just used Paula Deen’s recipe, so off I went in search of it.  Here is the recipe here.  I used that as a kind of starting off point, but went with what I had available.  I knew my FIL didn’t like things too sweet, so I didn’t add any sweetener other than the pineapple.  He seemed to really like them, and was surprised when I told him that it had pineapple at all!!  They would be delicious at a BBQ or just for a weeknight dinner!  Here’s how I did mine….

Sue and Gloria’s Baked Beans

Click for picture origin

Baked Beans (modified from this recipe)

3 cans (16 oz each) baked beans, I used 2 maple bacon and one onion flavored

7 slices bacon, cut up and cooked

2 tablespoons spicy brown mustard

2 cups BBQ sauce- I used a sweet and spicy, KC Masterpiece, I think

1 (20 oz) can of pineapple, drained

1 onion, chopped

1 can french fried onions

Slice your bacon into small pieces and fry in skillet.  When they are brown and crispy, remove from pan, leaving grease, and add your chopped onions.  Cook until they have lost their ‘bite’ and are starting to get translucent.  Remove from heat. 

In a crockpot or large bowl, mix beans, mustard, BBQ, the drained pineapple,  your bacon and onions.  Season with salt and pepper and mix until combined.  If you are baking it, put into a greased casserole dish, cover the top with french fried onions and bake for a good hour or so at 350, until it is bubbly and the onions are crispy and brown.  If  you are going the crockpot route, set it to low and let it go for about 5 hours.  Right before serving, sprinkle the french fried onions over the top.  Serve!!

**  This makes a TON of beans…but if you don’t need enough to feed a crowd, you can just get one or two cans of beans and a small can of pineapple and adjust to suit your needs.

Leave a Reply

