Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Dashing Dish and a Milkshake Recipe

on December 1, 2011

Happy 1st Day of December everyone!!  I am in full Christmas mode right now and am loving it!  My boss brought in some scented pinecones she made (don’t worry, I’m working on getting that how to out of her and will share soon!) so the office smells WONDERFUL right now!!  I have to say, I think cinnamon is one of my favorite scents of all time.  That is usually the kind of candle I buy, the scentsy I use, and you know those bins of scented pinecones and brooms at Walmart?  Yeah, I wish I could sit in those all day long, but alas, I would break the pinecones (which HELLO I can’t afford to buy a bin full!) and people would look at me funny.  Whatevs. 

On to the reason for today’s post.  Since it is the holidays, and if you are like me and the hubs, you are trying to lose weight (anyone else going to the gym?  Yeah, I totally hate it with.every.bone.in.my.body.)  This is a good post for you.  Or if you are just looking to eat healthier or want tips on exercise- you need to check this site out.  It’s called Dashing Dish.  Katie is beyond adorable and has a TON of different recipes that she has ‘healthified’, but they still taste great!  My favorite?  The Protein Milkshake.

If you read the ingredients, I’m sure you were kinda weirded out.  I know.  I was, too, but of course, anything weird automatically goes to the top of my list to try.  Seems to me the weirdest food is the best food a lot of the time.  She has a little video that she did on how to make it here.  Gotta love that accent!!  I have to say that I have had this every single day for the last three weeks or so, and I am not tired of it AT ALL.  C likes the shake a little thinner and just like a regular milkshake, I prefer it a little thicker and with chunks of ice left in it so there’s some crunch and I can eat it with a spoon.

Just a few notes:

-I get my protein powder at Walmart, and it’s like $15 for a huge tub that lasts a while.

-Right now I am using half a packet of hot cocoa for flavor, since I have like 6 boxes of the stuff. 

– After I get the ice all chopped up, I use the ‘Frappe’ option on my blender and it seems to make it frothier.

– Be sure you have a big cup 😉

Seriously, try this out.  Even if you aren’t trying to lose weight, still try it- it’s a good milkshake anyway!  Recipe here.

One response to “Dashing Dish and a Milkshake Recipe

  1. Katie says:

    Awww….Yeah!!! Thank you so much for all the kind words! 🙂 I had to smile when you said I had an accent! 😉 Of course I don’t hear one at all! 🙂

    Your so sweet~ so glad you enjoy the shakes! xo Happy Holidays!!!

Leave a Reply

