Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

How To Make Turkey Stock

on November 20, 2011

Hey all!  So, sorry I’ve been AWOL this week, it has been C-R-A-Z-Y around here!  I had some travelling for work for half the week, then came home and had a family reunion/Thanksgiving yesterday!  So here I am with a post, hopefully just in time for your family dinners.

Last year was the first year that I had ever made stock.  I had made a Christmas dinner for my family and we had a 19 lb turkey.  There was a TON of bones and skin and all that good stuff left over, and I just hated to throw it away.  So I called up my husband’s Granny and asked her what to do!  This is more a method than an actual recipe, but it will let you use up every piece of the turkey and save you money on having to buy stock in the future.

Click on picture for link to original image

(I don’t have any pictures yet, because we haven’t done our Thanksgiving dinner where I help cook the turkey, but I’ll try to take pics and get them added to this when I do!  I borrowed this image from yahoo images.)

Basically you take your leftover bones and skin and throw them in a BIG pot.  If you have them, you could add carrots, celery, and onion, I usually use the ends of the stalk, the leaves, etc.  You won’t be eating the vegetables, you just want the flavor, then you will be draining it off.  Add enough water to cover everything in the pot and about 3 inches over it.  Turn the heat to medium and let it simmer for an hour or two (usually while I clean up the kitchen lol!)  You can stir it every once and awhile, but it should do pretty well.  You will want to taste your stock at different times to see how it’s doing…it should be very concentrated and flavorful, and mine actually thickened up just a tiny tiny bit.  Some people would salt and pepper theirs, but I don’t since I will be adding it to a dish that I would season anyway.

When your stock is done, take it off the heat and strain it into another pot or bowl so that all of the veggies and bones are removed.  Let it cool completely and put it in tupperware to store in the freezer.  I usually do it in a few different sized containers so that I will have a big one for soup, but a small one for adding just a bit to dishes.

It’s that easy!  Throw it in a pot, cook it, strain it, cool it, freeze it, DONE! Do this and not only will you have been extra thrifty and used that turkey as much as possible, but you will now have a super delicious stock to use at all times.  Good job!  And the best part?   You could do this with chicken bones, beef bones, or possibly even ham bones?  I haven’t tried that yet, but I think I will :-).   Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!!

One response to “How To Make Turkey Stock

  1. Thanks to your husbands granny!! I love to make turkey soup after Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

