Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Quick and Easy Waffles

on November 14, 2011

So my sister B is home from college this weekend! Yay!  She helped me with my Hometown Shopping Event I did this weekend, and so I thought I would do something special this morning.  She has a meal plan at the school she goes to, but come on, you can only do so much with cafeteria food!  She is pretty easy to please, so of course when I asked her what she wanted, she said “anything” lol….ooook.  So I know that she really likes my waffles, we used to make them all the time, and she likes it when I put peaches in them (recipe on that coming later).  So I went to the pantry to pull out the waffle mix, because yes, I am a mix kind of girl, but I was all out!!!  A quick google search later resulted in this recipe.  I tweaked it a bit and came up with a GREAT waffle!  This was the first time I had ever made waffles from scratch, but I was definitely impressed and will be using it again.

So I had a waffle recipe, but didn’t have any peaches.  I just went ahead and substituted a can of fruit cocktail!  It. Was. Delicious.  I’ll give the details on that at the end.  But first, here’s my (altered) waffle recipe, you could easily make a double batch and freeze the leftovers between sheets of waxed paper.  Just throw them in the microwave or toaster and eat!

Easy Waffles

2 cups all purpose flour

2 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

3 eggs

1 1/2 cups milk or water

 

Preheat waffle iron.  Combine all dry ingredients in one bowl.  Combine all wet ingredients in another bowl.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, stirring just until combined, but not too much.  Add about 1 cup of batter to sprayed waffle iron.  When your waffle iron says it’s done, add some butter and syrup and enjoy!! YUM!

 

They turn out so light and fluffy and delicious!  To make them Fruit Cocktail Waffles, drain a can of fruit cocktail, reserving the juice.  Then just use the juice as your liquid, adding enough to equal about 1 cup.  Then add your fruit when you add your liquid.

2 responses to “Quick and Easy Waffles

  1. kel101 says:

    You never make me food when I come home 😦

Leave a Reply

